Release Tour Review: Scammer Girl (Tech-nically Love #2) by Michelle Dayton

Posted January 25, 2022 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour, Review / 4 Comments

Release Tour Review: Scammer Girl (Tech-nically Love #2) by Michelle Dayton

Jo is a professional online romance scammer and Jamie is The Conscience of Silicon Valley. They don’t trust one another, and when they meet in person, they quickly discover that not everything appears as it seems. Fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne will love Scammer Girl, a spicy enemies to lovers romance.

I received this book for free from Indie Pen PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Release Tour Review: Scammer Girl (Tech-nically Love #2) by Michelle DaytonScammer Girl by Michelle Dayton
Series: Tech-nically Love #2
Published by Tule Publishing on January 18, 2022
Genres: Adult Contemporary Romance
Pages: 277
Source: Indie Pen PR
Format: E-galley
My Rating: five-stars
Goodreads

Blurb:

Five years ago, Jo Harper did a bad thing. Dumped, injured, and in crippling debt, Jo did what any desperate woman with a PhD in psychology and above-average computer skills would: become an elite, undetectable online romance scammer. Now Jo and her team of four young women bring in enough cash to keep them securely afloat. Their targets? Married cheaters.

Jamie March, Bay Area royalty known as “The Conscience of Silicon Valley,” hates every aspect of online crime, especially those who defraud people. And when it appears that his brother is the victim of a sophisticated romance scam, he can’t stand idly by.

What’s weird though, is that when Jo and Jamie meet…they don’t hate one another. Not at all. He makes her laugh and feel alive again. She challenges his intellect like no other. But they can’t trust one another, right? And you can’t fall in love with someone you don’t trust—or can you?

Add to Goodreads!

Read Now On Your Favorite Retailers!

Amazon https://amzn.to/3mfc7up

iBookshttps://apple.co/3CgjYNX

Kobohttps://bit.ly/3Em470Z

Barnes & Noble https://bit.ly/3pM6qX0

Excerpt:

Copyright 2022 Michelle Dayton

We swayed together as the song reach its climax. It was much more of an embrace than a dance. My lips were inches from that damn freckle, and his hands were roving through my loose hair, tugging my head back. My lips parted—

            He stiffened, just the slightest bit. I felt the withdrawal. “What’s wrong?”

            There was a storm in those sea eyes. A sharp bite in his voice. “Does every man you target feel like this? Like you’re both the drug and the antidote?”

            If he’d physically slapped me, it wouldn’t have hurt more.

            I took a step back, dropping my hands and jutting out my chin. Not that it mattered or that he would believe me, but, “You were never a target.”

The song ended, and I raised my hands in applause to the stage before coolly pointing to my sofa, marching to it, and sitting down. “I assume you want to discuss your brother.” Jamie lowered himself to the cushion next to me, but he didn’t relax into the seat. His rigid posture made me want to give him a good shove.

“I’m sorry I said that,” he mumbled. “I’m extremely uneasy about the effect you have on me.” His lips tightened. “I know a lot about the ways people can be damaged by Internet scams: financially, emotionally. But I’ve never been involved in one personally.”

He moved his head from side to side, a little sheepish. “The past month, our letters. There was always the possibility you were acting or lying. But I didn’t think you were. I chose to believe that the letters you wrote were coming from you, not someone you made up. That the conversation we had the night we met was real.” He looked at the band, at the couples swaying. “When we were dancing, I was so … so fucking thrilled, I scared myself. What if you’re pretending? Performing? What if I’m the world’s biggest idiot?”

His straightforward truthfulness was jarring. Maybe I’d been in the game for too long, but I just didn’t expect men to be so open about their feelings, especially ones that made them vulnerable. In writing, yes. In person, no.

“I’m not pretending or performing,” I bit out. The truth came through my lips before I could stop it. “I’m extremely uneasy about the effect you have on me too.”

His shoulders relaxed a few inches. “I do want to talk about Bobby,” he admitted. “But,” he leaned forward. “First I just want to talk. To you. About anything.”

Still a little stung, I just shrugged. “Well, no Jeopardy! tonight. So I guess we won’t be trading quotes from classic literature.”

“Oh, I don’t know,” he said. “There’s one perfect quote that’s been boomeranging around my skull for the last several weeks.” He quirked one brow and made meaningful eye contact. “‘You have bewitched me, body and soul.’”

Oof. I hung my head in mock surrender and covered my heart with my hands. He just undid with me with his ridiculous adorableness. “Ok, Indy. You win. You’ve just recited my favorite line in all of fiction. Let’s talk.”

Jamie’s eyes widened with glee. “Indy? That’s the Harrison Ford I am? Indiana Jones? Should I buy a hat and whip?”

I burst out laughing. “I mean, sure. You’d look great in a fedora. But I was referring to Indiana Jones in professor mode. With the three-piece suit, tie, and glasses.”

He slumped down, looking deflated. “Oh. Yeah, that makes more sense.”

I poked him in the shoulder. “Don’t pout. There is a huge population of women who find classroom Indy even sexier than sweaty jungle Indy.”

He cocked his jaw. “Interesting. Are you within that population?”

Oh. This was getting dangerous. But not even a little part of me felt like stopping. I smiled directly into his eyes. “Hell yes.”

My Review:

So right now I am kicking myself for missing out on fitting the first book in this series in when it came out. Because this book was soooooooooo good! I loved it! It had the laughs, but it also had the emotions and the snarkiness and the wonderful plot that kept me invested and reading as quickly as I could.

All of the characters had such great parts in the story. But I also liked how real I felt their interactions and reactions to situations were. Jo and Jamie were perfect for each other. Even though they knew they should stay away from the other one, because of what that person might or might not be doing or be able to do to their family, or their career/livelihood, or how much maybe what they did was so opposite of their own life, they couldn’t seem to resist talking or spending time with each other. And it was done perfectly. A lot of times in books it might seem as if they are stretching and forcing it, but not this one. I was waiting and wanting them to reach out to each other, not to mention bereft when one didn’t, or excited when that surprise contact happened.

The characters from the first book weren’t major parts of this story, just someone living in the same building as Jo and I loved how they all fit together. Not to mention the little old lady in the building that I’ll bet was a blast in the first book as well.

I think I’ve found another author that I can’t wait to read as soon as I can get my hands on another book!

About the Author:

There are only three things Michelle Dayton loves more than sexy and suspenseful novels: her family, the city of Chicago, and Mr. Darcy. Michelle dreams of a year of world travel – as long as the trip would include weeks and weeks of beach time. As a bourbon lover and unabashed wine snob, Michelle thinks heaven is discussing a good book over an adult beverage.

Follow: Facebook | Twitter | Website | Goodreads | BookBub | Amazon

This promotional event is brought to you by Indie Pen PR

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

4 responses to “Release Tour Review: Scammer Girl (Tech-nically Love #2) by Michelle Dayton

    • Lisa Mandina

      I definitely enjoyed them! Now the sexy scenes were pretty much behind closed doors, but I liked it anyway!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.