Blog Tour Review: Forever With the Mechanic (The Forever Collection #2) by Allie York

Posted September 1, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 3 Comments

Blog Tour Review:  Forever With the Mechanic (The Forever Collection #2) by Allie York

Joslyn’s life may be in shambles, but she doesn’t need a hero. She definitely doesn’t want Dax to save her. They may fall into bed easily, but will they also fall in love? Fans of Aria Cole and Alexa Riley will love Forever with the Mechanic by Allie York, a down on her luck heroine, blue collar romance.

I received this book for free from Indie Pen PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review:  Forever With the Mechanic (The Forever Collection #2) by Allie YorkForever with the Mechanic by Allie York
Series: The Forever Collection #2
on August 27, 2021
Genres: Adult Contemporary Romance
Pages: 55
Source: Indie Pen PR
Format: E-galley
My Rating: three-stars
Goodreads

Synopsis:

I didn’t need to be rescued, but Dax wanted to save me anyway.

Joslyn’s life was in shambles. Just when she believes things are going her way, she finds herself jobless and homeless.
When Dax Thompson sees her sitting at the bar, alone, he knows he has to have her.
But Joslyn doesn’t want to be saved.
Dax has other plans though. Business and home owner, Dax realizes the only thing missing is a family.
And who better to have at his side than Joslyn Moore.

Falling into bed is the easy part, falling in love is a little harder.

Add to Goodreads Here!

Buy Now or Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

Excerpt

Copyright 2021 @Allie York

Before I know what I’m doing, I’m outta my chair and striding across the bar. Everett says my name, but I just shake my head and keep walking. When I get to the stool next to her, I pause to take her in. Tight ass jeans, a sparkly top, and curves for fucking days. Turned toward the bartender, she doesn’t see me, but he does. He gives me a chin tip before vanishing and I lift one leg over the stool to sit next to her.
“Now don’t take this wrong, but you don’t really fit in here.” I lean in so she can hear me.
“No, not really.” She turns to me, and I’m hit with big, chocolate doe eyes and even fuller lips than I imagined.
“How’d you find yourself in O’Malley’s alone?” The bartender appears with another beer, and I thank him.
“A job.” She shrugs and mirrors me by lifting her glass. A job. No fucking way this little thing could make it in this place. The patrons would eat her alive. I bite back a laugh. “But I don’t think he’s very impressed.” She nods to the man delivering drinks across the bar. I think his name is Drake, but I don’t remember.
“Anyone not impressed with you is blind or wrong.” I wink at her and she smirks, still nursing the same beer.
“If I didn’t know better, I’d say you were hitting on me.”
“Good thing you know better.” I put out a hand. “Dax.” She slides her small, soft hand into mine.
“Joslyn. It’s very nice to meet you.” Before she slides her hand from mine I run my thumb over her knuckles, reveling in the softness.
“Nice to meet you, Joslyn. Now I have a question before we get better acquainted. Is there any reason you shouldn’t be talking to me alone in a bar?” I lean in, wanting, needing, to be closer to her. And hoping like hell she doesn’t have a man waiting for her somewhere.
“Nope. But who said we needed to be better acquainted?” Mischief lights those brown eyes and her tongue darts out to lick her bottom lip. Fuck me, I want to be the one licking that lip.
“I’m a nice guy. You seem like a nice girl. I think us getting acquainted sounds like a damn good idea.” I wink at her, and a pink blush starts at her chest and creeps up her neck to her cheeks. “What do you say? Wanna come join us over here?” Her eyes dart to my rowdy party behind us and her lips twist. I stand up and lean in close to her ear. “Don’t worry, none of them will lay a hand on you. You have my word.” Joslyn stands up, her head barely coming up to my shoulder, and looks up at me.

My Review:

I didn’t realize that really these books were more like novellas, or is it short story if it is that short? I don’t know. But this was a really quick read. In fact the whole romance moved at the speed of light really. There was also one thing he said that he should totally have taken heart of himself, that “just because you keep saying it doesn’t make it true.” It followed the romance storyline that you’d expect. In fact it was almost too much of all the cliche moments, lines, types of steamy scenes. I’ve read other books by York that I enjoyed a lot. And this one wasn’t bad, but it really wasn’t anything that unique or original. I’m guessing the rest of the series is a lot of similar types of stories, but also then they are probably just quick and easy. So if you’re looking for an easy read, that you won’t have to get too emotionally involved in or have too much drama, this is probably the series for you.

Buy Now or Read for FREE with Kindle Unlimited!

About the Author:

I’m a mom, wife, and dog groomer by day. At night I write contemporary romance. I love funny dog videos, I read naughty books, and drink too much coffee.

Follow: Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads | Bookbub | Amazon | Newsletter | Website | Reader Group

This promotional event is brought to you by The Indie Pen PR

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

3 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Forever With the Mechanic (The Forever Collection #2) by Allie York

    • Lisa Mandina

      Then this will be the perfect read! I’ll be reading the next one in the series, Forever with the Chef, in another week or so.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.