Blog Tour Review: Baby, One More Time (True Love #2) by Camilla Isley

Posted January 26, 2024 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour, Review / 2 Comments

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review:  Baby, One More Time (True Love #2) by Camilla IsleyBaby, One More Time by Camilla Isley
Series: True Love #2
Published by Boldwood Books on January 20, 2024
Genres: Adult Contemporary Romance, Adult Romantic Comedy
Pages: 314
Source: the publisher
Format: E-galley
My Rating: five-stars
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on Audible

Blurb:

Driven and smart, Marissa Mayer has worked her way to COO at a major Fintech startup as well as launching her own successful app on the side. Now what she wants more than anything is a baby. And having given up on love after her heart was broken by the boy next door, she’s prepared to do it alone.

Recently returning to New York from LA, Dr John Raikes is an expert in his field of neonatal medicine. But when John introduces himself as Marissa’s doctor, sparks fly, and not in a good way. Because Dr John Raikes is no stranger: he’s her teenage sweetheart all grown up.

Marissa knows she should keep John at arm’s length, lest she have her heart broken again… But there’s something about a man in a white coat. And with John determined to show Marissa he’s changed, can she keep saying no when her heart is saying yes?

A gorgeously funny enemies-to-lovers, second-chance rom com, perfect for fans of Sarah Adams, Lynn Painter and Jo Watson.

Purchase Link – https://mybook.to/BabyOneMoreTimeSocial

This book blew me away! It started with what would have to be one of the most mortifying moments, having your high school ex-boyfriend be the one who has to give you a pelvic exam as you are getting ready to do IVF. I mean, just wow. I’m so bad I prefer to go to women doctors for that anyway! But it was impossible when we got John’s side to not fall in love with him and his daughter. Especially since we didn’t know exactly how he’d broken up with her in high school on prom night and what made it so impossible for Marissa to forgive him or even be able to move on with any relationships.

I loved how John set about proving to her he was changed. And then something big happened, that I won’t say what, because it’s a major spoiler and major change in plans for Marissa and her IVF. But oh my gosh, it was so crazy! But perfect in a way too. I was left with so many parts that made me laugh out loud, as well as a lot of emotional parts. I loved the family interactions, as well as the banter between Mari and John.

The scene where Mari’s big secret comes out to her family, the being pregnant as well as what I alluded to in my last paragraph was hilarious and so so perfect. And then there was Marissa’s best friend Blake, who was the character in the first book in this series, which I haven’t read yet. But I am guessing from what happened that we kind of get this story slightly aligned time-wise for part of it. Blake and her significant other Gabriel made even more perfect characters for this whole story to piggy-back on or spin off of into its own directions. So much I really need to go back and read it, even if I’m not always a big billionaire romance reader.

In the end, even with the craziness and the whimsicality of some situations, I feel like the author made a lot of “real” choices for the characters in how they behaved and reacted to things when all the pieces finally started to settle into place. This may end up being one of my favorites of the year, and cements Camilla Isley as one of my favorite romance authors these days!

Camilla Isley is an engineer who left science behind to write bestselling contemporary rom-coms set all around the world. She lives in Italy and her first title for Boldwood, The Love Theorem, a Hollywood-meets-STEM romance, will be published in June 2023.

Social Media Links –  

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/camilla.isley.10

Twitter https://twitter.com/camillaisley

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/camillaisley/

Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/CamillaIsleyNews

Bookbub profile: Camilla Isley Books – BookBub

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
Tweet 0
Pin Share20

Tags:


2 responses to “Blog Tour Review: Baby, One More Time (True Love #2) by Camilla Isley

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.