E-galley Review: Sixteen Scandals by Sophie Jordan

May 15, 2021 Review 0 ★★★★★

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

E-galley Review:  Sixteen Scandals by Sophie JordanSixteen Scandals by Sophie Jordan
Published by HMH Books for Young Readers on May 25, 2021
Genres: YA Historical Romance
Pages: 256
Source: the publisher
Format: E-galley
My Rating: five-stars
Goodreads

Synopsis:

In this irreverent regency romp by New York Times best-selling author Sophie Jordan, newly minted sixteen-year-old Primrose Ainsworth finds herself on a wayward birthday adventure through London with a mysterious hero—perfect for fans of My Lady Jane.

The youngest of four daughters, Primrose Ainsworth is used to getting lost in the shuffle. But when her parents decide to delay her debut into English society, Prim hatches a plan to go rogue on the night of her sixteenth birthday.

Donning a mask, Prim escapes to the infamous Vauxhall Gardens for one wild night. When her cover is nearly blown, a mysterious stranger intercedes, and Prim finds an unexpected partner in mischief . . . and romance. But when it’s revealed her new ally isn’t who he says he is, her one night of fun may last past dawn.

In this frothy regency romp perfect for fans of Austen-esque flirtation and Shakespearean hijinks, sometimes a little scandal can be a good thing.

My Review:

I don’t know how it didn’t hit me from the title alone, Sixteen Scandals totally has plot or story-lines from the movie Sixteen Candles. Which, as I am a child of the 80s and of course loved most of the John Hughes movies universe, I am loving those bits! Also with the popularity of Bridgerton this past year, this book is definitely one that I think is going to be a huge hit. By the end of the book I was totally in love with the whole story! It was so much fun! I also had this whole song going through my head when I finished the book and put my e-reader away.

The story took place over one day/night really for the most part, again like the movie. And of course the reader knows who Prim’s secret ally is in the story, even if she doesn’t quite put it together till the very end. All the adventures that Prim has during the night, not all good of course, there are the people out to pick pockets and other things in the mysterious and infamous Vauxhall Gardens. I really enjoyed all the different things that went on, getting a look at what people of the time might have found amusing, whether it be actually interesting, or somewhat upsetting. It was nice to see that Primrose really did have more people in her corner in the end than she assumed, but man did I want to slap her mother so much! I also wonder what happened to her friend Olympia during the time they were separated, and wonder if the author could possibly do a companion story about her night.

I’ve been a fan of Sophie Jordan’s YA books for a long time, and this one makes me think I need to read some of her adult romances that might be similar to this one. I’ll probably end up adding this to my new school library next year.

In fact, I’ll finish out the post sharing a picture from the first time I met her when the Romantic Times Convention was in Kansas City, where I live.

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.