Blog Tour Review: The First Date by Zara Stoneley

May 1, 2020 Blog Tour, Review 0 ★★★★

Blog Tour Review: The First Date by Zara Stoneley

I received this book for free from Rachel's Random Resources in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review: The First Date by Zara StoneleyThe First Date by Zara Stoneley
on April 24, 2020
Pages: 400
Format: E-galley
Source: Rachel's Random Resources
My Rating: four-stars
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & Noble

Synopsis:

From the USA Today bestselling author of The Wedding Date

Right place. 
Right time. 
Wrong guy …

After breaking up with her childhood sweetheart, clueless dater Rosie has found herself in a boyfriend-drought. So when she finally swipes right on a guy who seems interested, she can’t wait to meet up IRL.

Until she’s left standing alone. In a bar. Ghosted.

Enter Noah. Confident, funny … and a serial first dater. Offering to give Rosie a crash course in seduction, this could be just what she needs. Until her matchmaker turns out to be the best date she’s ever had – and Rosie wonders if she wants the fake dates to be the real ones after all …

A hilarious, heartwarming romantic comedy about what happens when the wrong guy turns up at the right time, perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella and Debbie Johnson.

My Review:

I’ve read one other book by this author, The Wedding Date, and I enjoyed it, so when this book came up I was excited to read it as well. Like the that book, this one was a sweet romance. Noah was really sweet, and funny, but I totally got where at times Rosie was confused by him. Because he told her he was a serial dater, and did nothing to change her mind about it. Said he wasn’t good enough for her, and that she deserved a man that was able to love. While in a way his issues were similar to players in other romances, the reason behind his fear of commitment was a lot different, or at least done differently and made me sad and want him to realize he deserved a girl like Rosie and love for himself. Rosie was funny, and in some ways I loved a lot of the things she felt and did, and her dating app experiences were so similar to my own in some ways that I connected with her on that. I wasn’t a huge fan of how she kept comparing Noah to her dad, as if he was a bad guy like her dad obviously was. It wasn’t fair, because even though Noah said he wasn’t going to ever be a one woman kind of guy, he was never doing anything to hurt anyone like her dad was.

I have to say while I was unsure about her mother for a lot of the book, once her mom called and asked her to find out how to contact a certain person from her father’s life, I got the inkling that her mom wasn’t as much of a pushover as she seemed, and I loved how that all worked out in the end.

Once again the sex scenes were pretty close to fade to black, which always leaves me a little unsatisfied. But that’s my own preference. And there were also a lot of British types of slang that slowed me down as an American, but not enough that I still didn’t enjoy the book. I could definitely see reading more by this author in the future.

About the Author:

Born in a small village in Staffordshire, Zara Stoneley wanted to be James Herriot, a
spy, or an author when she grew up. Writing novels means she can imagine she is
all these things, and more!

Zara’s bestselling novels include ‘The Holiday Swap‘, ‘Summer with the Country Village
Vet
‘, ‘Blackberry Picking at Jasmine Cottage‘ and the popular Tippermere series
– ‘Stable Mates‘, ‘Country Affairs‘ and ‘Country Rivals‘.
She lives in a Cheshire village with her family, a naughty cockapoo, and a very
bossy cat, and loves spending time in sunny Spain.

Where you can find her

Website: http://www.zarastoneley.com
Twitter: @ZaraStoneley
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ZaraStoneley

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/zarastoneley/

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.