Genre: YA Retelling

Review:  So Many Beginnings (Remixed Classics #2) by Bethany C. Morrow

Review: So Many Beginnings (Remixed Classics #2) by Bethany C. Morrow

Synopsis: Four young Black sisters come of age during the American Civil War in So Many Beginnings, a warm and powerful YA remix of the classic novel Little Women by national bestselling author Bethany C. Morrow.  North Carolina, 1863. As the American Civil War rages on, the Freedmen’s Colony of Roanoke Island is blossoming, a haven for the recently […]

Posted September 7, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments
Very Late ARC Review – Pride:  A Pride and Prejudice Remix by Ibi Zoboi

Very Late ARC Review – Pride: A Pride and Prejudice Remix by Ibi Zoboi

Synopsis: Pride and Prejudice gets remixed in this smart, funny, gorgeous retelling of the classic, starring all characters of color, from Ibi Zoboi, National Book Award finalist and author of American Street. Zuri Benitez has pride. Brooklyn pride, family pride, and pride in her Afro-Latino roots. But pride might not be enough to save her rapidly gentrifying […]

Posted March 6, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments
Very Late ARC Review:  The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil #1) by Gena Showalter

Very Late ARC Review: The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil #1) by Gena Showalter

Synopsis: Classic fairy tales are turned on their heads as strong heroines take charge and save the princes and the world in this magical action and romance-filled trilogy from the New York Times bestselling author of the Everlife novels and the White Rabbit Chronicles, beginning with a teen prophesied to become the Evil Queen from […]

Posted January 23, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments
ARC Review:  These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

ARC Review: These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

Synopsis: Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery. A blood feud between two gangs runs the […]

Posted November 23, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 9 Comments
Blog Tour Review with Giveaway:  Poisoned by Jennifer Donnelly

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway: Poisoned by Jennifer Donnelly

Synopsis: From Jennifer Donnelly, author of the acclaimed New York Times bestseller Stepsister, comes a fairytale retelling that’ll forever change the way you think about strength, power, and the real meaning of “happily ever after.” Once upon a time, a girl named Sophie rode into the forest with the queen’s huntsman. Her lips were the color of ripe […]

Posted October 17, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour, giveaway, Review / 11 Comments
ARC Review:  The Midnight Circus by Jane Yolen

ARC Review: The Midnight Circus by Jane Yolen

Synopsis: “Jane Yolen is the Hans Christian Andersen of America” –Newsweek Welcome to the Midnight Circus – and watch your step. The dark imaginings of fantasy icon Jane Yolen are not for the faint of heart. In these sixteen brilliantly unnerving tales and poems, Central Park becomes a carnival where you can – but probably […]

Posted September 27, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments