Genre: YA Fantasy

ARC Review:  So This is Ever After by F.T. Lukens

ARC Review: So This is Ever A..

Posted March 26, 2022 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 6 Comments

Blurb: Carry On meets Arthurian legend in this funny, subversive young adult fantasy about what happens after the chosen one wins the kingdom and has to get married to keep it…and to stay alive. Arek hadn’t thought much about what would happen after he completed the prophecy that said he was destined to save the Kingdom […]

ARC Review:  The Midnight Girls by Alicia Jasinska

ARC Review: The Midnight Girl..

Posted December 6, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments

Synopsis: The Wicked Deep meets House of Salt and Sorrows in this new standalone YA fantasy set in a snow-cloaked kingdom where witches are burned, and two enchantresses secretly compete for the heart of a prince, only to discover that they might be falling for each other. It’s Karnawał season in the snow-cloaked Kingdom of Lechija, and from […]

ARC Review:  The Wild Ones by Nafiza Azad

ARC Review: The Wild Ones by ..

Posted August 2, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 4 Comments

Synopsis: From William C. Morris Finalist Nafiza Azad comes a thrilling, feminist fantasy about a group of teenage girls endowed with special powers who must band together to save the life of the boy whose magic saved them all. Meet the Wild Ones: girls who have been hurt, abandoned, and betrayed all their lives. It […]

E-galley Review:  The Ever After (Omte Origins #3) by Amanda Hocking

E-galley Review: The Ever Aft..

Posted January 3, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 3 Comments

Synopsis: Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The Kanin Chronicles, returns to the magical world of the Trylle Trilogy with The Ever After, the final novel in The Omte Origins arc. Buried memories… Ulla Tulin has lost a month of her life. Her journey to learn who her parents are has brought […]

Book Blitz:  The Virus of Beauty by C.B. Lyall

Book Blitz: The Virus of Beau..

Posted December 18, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour / 0 Comments

Synopsis: Wilf Gilvary is a teenage wizard who is terrified of using magic. When his father dies under mysterious circumstances, Wilf is plunged into the middle of a political struggle between the witches and wizards in the magical realm. He’d rather play soccer than practice magic, but he’s forced to make a choice between the […]

Blog Tour Review:  A Curse of Roses by Diana Pinguicha

Blog Tour Review: A Curse of ..

Posted December 17, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour, Review / 2 Comments

Synopsis: With just one touch, bread turns into roses. With just one bite, cheese turns into lilies. There’s a famine plaguing the land, and Princess Yzabel is wasting food simply by trying to eat. Before she can even swallow, her magic—her curse—has turned her meal into a bouquet. She’s on the verge of starving, which only […]

L-L-L-Little Reviews #26:  A YA Fantasy, 2 Adult Romances, and a Nonfiction Book

L-L-L-Little Reviews #26: A Y..

Posted November 27, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 5 Comments

I was going to try to save these for December, but since I don’t seem to be able to make myself do any writing this month, I’m going to go ahead and get these done now. The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins #2) by Amanda Hocking My Review: So this is the second book in […]

ARC Tour Review with Author Interview: Soulswift by Megan Bannen

ARC Tour Review with Author In..

Posted November 11, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments

Synopsis: A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must reevaluate everything she believes after she is betrayed and hunted by the religion that raised her—from Megan Bannen, author of The Bird and the Blade. Perfect for fans of The Winner’s Curse and The Girl of Fire and Thorns. Gelya is a Vessel, a girl who channels the word […]

ARC Review:  We Were Restless Things by Cole Nagamatsu

ARC Review: We Were Restless ..

Posted October 8, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 4 Comments

Synopsis: From debut author Cole Nagamatsu comes an atmospheric contemporary fantasy about three teens coming of age in the wake of a mysterious death. Last summer, Link Miller drowned on dry land in the woods, miles away from the nearest body of water. His death was ruled a strange accident, and in the months since, […]