Blog Tour Review with Giveaway: The Lucky List by Rachael Lippincott

Posted June 1, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour, giveaway, Review / 3 Comments

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the THE LUCKY LIST by Rachael Lippincott Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

 

About The Book:

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway: The Lucky List by Rachael LippincottThe Lucky List by Rachael Lippincott
Published by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers on June 1, 2021
Genres: YA Contemporary
Pages: 304
Source: the publisher
Format: ARC
My Rating: four-half-stars
Goodreads

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Find it: GoodreadsAmazon, Kindle, AudibleB&N, iBooks, KoboTBD, Bookshop.org 

White Whale Bookstore Pre-order! Signed, Personalized, and Enter The Giveaway! *** Rachael has partnered with White Whale Bookstore for an exclusive giveaway! All pre-orders for signed and personalized copies placed through White Whale’s website will get one of each of the stickers designed to celebrate The Lucky List, and 30 random orders will be chosen to receive one of three Lucky List themed totes! The drawing will take place on June 1, when the book is published. ***

From the #1 New York Times bestselling co-author of Five Feet Apart comes a gripping new romance, perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. 

Emily and her mum were always lucky.

But Emily’s mum’s luck ran out three years ago when she succumbed to cancer, and nothing has felt right since.

Now, the summer before her senior year, things are worse than ever – Emily has wrecked things with her boyfriend, Matt, and her dad is selling the house she grew up in and giving her mum’s belongings away. The only person she has to talk to is Blake, a girl she barely knows since she and her dad moved back to town five seconds ago.

But that’s when Emily finds the list – her mum’s senior year summer bucket list – buried in the back of her closet. When Blake suggests that Emily take it on as a challenge, the two set off on a journey to tick each box and help Emily face her fears over losing her connection to her mum. As she starts to feel closer to her mother, so too does Emily’s bond with Blake deepen into something she wasn’t expecting.

And suddenly Emily must face another fear: accepting the secret part of herself she never got a chance to share with the person who knew her best.

A captivating, heartfelt love story about learning who you are, and who you love, when the person you’ve always shared yourself with is gone.

 

Praise for THE LUCKY LIST:

“A countdown to finishing the list before a class trip keeps the pacing solid, and an entertaining unraveling of connections to her parents’ pasts adds nice depth. Told in Emily’s first-person narration, the breezy tale explores the theme of learning to live life without holding back, as Emily both questions her sexuality and learns to heal from her grief….A truly charming summer romp.” — Kirkus Reviews

 

Join Rachael for her online Launch Party!

 

My Review:

This book had a lot of great twists in it, nothing major, just things that were unexpected even from the synopsis. It also seemed very realistic for how a teenager would act with both their friends and their family, based on not only the major life changes Emily has gone through with losing her mother a few years ago, but also just even being unsure of her feelings and wants in a relationship. And also how to deal with the changing friendship that seems to happen when people grow up and their interests and thoughts change based on whatever. The small town aspect really was even a big factor for Emily, even if her own family and immediate friends wouldn’t be anything against the new thoughts she was having.

There were also a lot of cute parts that I really liked. The small town bingo nights. I especially liked the one at the very end, which culminated in a big to-do that had been kind of hinted at always being just on the brink of throughout its entire history. And it was definitely very emotional going through Emily’s mother list with her, and how she kind of learned more about who she was and what she wanted. Although it was definitely hard to not feel bad for Matt at certain parts. A great story, one I look forward to sharing with my students next school year!

About Rachael Lippincott:

Rachael Lippincott was born in Philadelphia and raised in Bucks County, Pennsylvania. She holds a BA in English writing from the University of Pittsburgh. She currently resides in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, splitting her time between writing and running a food truck with her partner.

Her debut novel, FIVE FEET APART, is a #1 NYT Bestseller.

 

Website | Twitter | Instagram | TikTok | Goodreads | Amazon

 




Giveaway Details:

3 lucky winners will win a finished copy of THE LUCKY LIST, US Only.a Rafflecopter giveaway


Tour Schedule:

Week One:

5/24/2021

YA Books Central

Interview

5/24/2021

Stuck in the Stacks

Review

5/25/2021

BookHounds YA

Interview

5/25/2021

Kait Plus Books

Pre-made Guest Post

5/26/2021

Book-Keeping

Review

5/26/2021

The YA Obsessed

Review

5/27/2021

A Court of Coffee and Books

Review

5/27/2021

Moonlight Rendezvous

Review

5/28/2021

booksaremagictoo

Review

5/28/2021

Book Briefs

Review


Week Two:

5/31/2021

Do You Dog-ear?

Review

5/31/2021

Celiamcmahonreads

Review

6/1/2021

Lisa Loves Literature

Review

6/1/2021

Emelie’s Books

Review

6/2/2021

Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers

Review

6/2/2021

Rajiv’s Reviews

Review

6/3/2021

Eli to the nth

Review

6/3/2021

Simply Daniel Radcliffe

Review

6/4/2021

Thindbooks

Review

6/4/2021

Margie’s Must Reads

Review


Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

3 responses to “Blog Tour Review with Giveaway: The Lucky List by Rachael Lippincott

    • Lisa Mandina

      I think I usually prefer a little lighter, but this one was good, and I do usually end up enjoying the grief stories too I guess. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.