Lisa’s Looking Forward To #58 – April 21st, 2020

April 15, 2020 LLFT 16

Once again I’ll be joining up with the Can’t Wait Wednesday posts hosted by Wishful Endings.  As I’ve come to notice, the middle of the month tends to have less new releases. Maybe the publishers expect we’re still reading the books we got the last two weeks? As far as I know these are still scheduled to come out next week, even though I know that some publishing may be getting rescheduled. Anyway, here we go!

From my ARC list for April 21st, 2020:

Okay, first off, that cover is so beautiful! Now, I see that maybe this was actually published last year, maybe that was in another country? Don’t know. But for sure it comes out in hardcover, or is supposed to, next week.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

From the Printz Award winning author of Satellite comes a compelling new novel about a girl who must brave the elements to help a lost child with an other-worldly secret. 

16-year-old Emily is on the run. Between her parents and the trouble she’s recently gotten into at school, she has more than enough reason to get away. But when she finds a little boy named Aidan wandering in the woods, she knows she needs to help him find his way home. But getting home is no easy matter, especially with Emily finds out that Aidan isn’t even from Earth. When their plane crashes into the side of a snowy mountain, it’s up to Emily to ensure Aidan and their pilot, Bob, make it off the mountain alive. Pursued by government forces who want to capture Aidan, the unlikely team of three trek across the freezing landscape, learning more about each other, and about life, than they ever thought possible.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

I’ve been seeing a lot of reviews of this one over the past week or so, and it sounds really good!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

A boy desperate to hold on, a girl ready to let go.

Fitz Holton waits in fear for the day his single mother’s early-onset Alzheimer’s starts stealing her memory. He’s vowed to stay close to home to care for her in the years to come–never mind the ridiculous college tour she’s forcing him on to visit schools where he knows he’ll never go. Juniper Ramirez is counting down the days until she can leave home, a home crowded with five younger siblings and zero privacy. Against the wishes of her tight-knit family, Juniper plans her own college tour of the East Coast with one goal: get out.

When Fitz and Juniper cross paths on their first college tour in Boston, they’re at odds from the moment they meet– while Juniper’s dying to start a new life apart for her family, Fitz faces the sacrifices he must make for his. Their relationship sparks a deep connection–in each other’s eyes, they glimpse alternate possibilities regarding the first big decision of their adult lives. 

Time of Our Lives is a story of home and away, of the wonder and weight of memory, of outgrowing fears and growing into the future.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

This is another one that I think I’ve been hearing good reviews on, and it sounds really good.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

A funny and timely debut YA about the toxic masculinity at a famous improv comedy camp

Seventeen-year-old Zelda Bailey-Cho has her future all planned out: improv camp, then Second City, and finally Saturday Night Live. She’s thrilled when she lands a spot on the coveted varsity team at a prestigious improv camp, which means she’ll get to perform for professional scouts—including her hero, Nina Knightley. But even though she’s hardworking and talented, Zelda’s also the only girl on Varsity, so she’s the target for humiliation from her teammates. And her 20-year-old coach, Ben, is cruel to her at practice and way too nice to her when they’re alone. Zelda wants to fight back, but is sacrificing her best shot at her dream too heavy a price to pay? 

Equal parts funny and righteous, Unscripted is a moving debut novel that Printz Award winner Nina LaCour calls “a truly special book, written at exactly the right time.” 

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

This sounds like a very good historical fiction, and it looks like it has some good reviews.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

I have a mouth, but I mustn’t speak;
Ears, but I mustn’t hear;
Eyes, but I mustn’t see.

1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.

June Hur’s elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renée Ahdieh.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

I’ve also been hearing some great stuff about this one as well! I also love this style of cover that seems to be getting out there more.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Seventeen is nothing like Codi Teller imagined.

She’s never crashed a party, never stayed out too late. She’s never even been kissed. And it’s not just because she’s gay. It’s because she and her two best friends, Maritza and JaKory, spend more time in her basement watching Netflix than engaging with the outside world.

So when Maritza and JaKory suggest crashing a party, Codi is highly skeptical. Those parties aren’t for kids like them. They’re for cool kids. Straight kids.

But then Codi stumbles upon one of those cool kids, Ricky, kissing another boy in the dark, and an unexpected friendship is formed. In return for never talking about that kiss, Ricky takes Codi under his wing and draws her into a wild summer filled with late nights, new experiences, and one really cute girl named Lydia.

The only problem? Codi never tells Maritza or JaKory about any of it.

From author Kelly Quindlen comes a poignant and deeply relatable story about friendship, self-acceptance, what it means to be a Real Teenager. Late to the Party is an ode to late bloomers and wallflowers everywhere.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Final Thoughts:

Only five this week. Are any of these on your TBR, or have you already read them? If so, which do you recommend? Leave me a link to your post in your comment and I’ll be sure to return the visit!

16 Responses to “Lisa’s Looking Forward To #58 – April 21st, 2020”

  1. Literary Feline

    All of these sound really good, Lisa. I love the cover of Nowhere on Earth too. The Silence of Bones interests me quite a bit as does Late to the Party. I hope you enjoy all of these if you read them!

  2. Sam@wlabb

    I liked both Unscripted and Late to the Party, and am dying to read Time of Our Lives. I really enjoyed that duo’s last two books

  3. Rachelle

    Holy crap! That Nowhere On Earth cover is gorgeous! The blurb doesn’t sound like my kind of thing, but that cover is amazing! I may have to keep my eye on the reviews for this one. Thanks for sharing and for visiting Shell’s Stories!

    • Lisa Mandina

      It’s so hard right now not being able to go to the library. I’ve given in and purchased some books online when normally I would be able to keep myself from doing that. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.