Blog Tour Review with Giveaway (UK only): Highland Games by Evie Alexander

Posted October 16, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour, giveaway, Review / 2 Comments

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway (UK only):  Highland Games by Evie Alexander

A fiery heroine, a Scottish god, a cabin, a castle, and enough heat to warm the coldest Scottish winter…

Highland Games is an unputdownable, enemies-to-lovers, romantic comedy, with sparkle and sizzle and a guaranteed happy ending. This sexy, witty, debut from Evie Alexander will have you laughing, swooning, and staying up way past your bedtime…

Perfect for fans of Sally ThorneTalia Hibbert, Sophie Kinsella, and Helen Hoang. If you’re looking for a riotous romantic comedy with plenty of heat, then Highland Games is for you!

I received this book for free from Rachel's Random Resources in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway (UK only):  Highland Games by Evie AlexanderHighland Games by Evie Alexander
Series: Kinloch Series #1
Published by Emlin Press on October 15, 2021
Genres: Adult Romantic Comedy
Pages: 310
Source: Rachel's Random Resources
Format: E-galley
My Rating: four-stars
Goodreads

Synopsis:

♥♥♥ Welcome to Kinloch, and the hottest winter Scotland’s ever seen. ♥♥♥

Zoe’s always played it safe, just as her parents wanted. But when her great-uncle dies and leaves her a ramshackle cabin in the Scottish Highlands, she decides it’s time to change her life.

Upping sticks seems like a good idea in her cosy flat in London, but the reality is very different. There’s no electricity or running water, the roof leaks and there’s no front door. If that wasn’t bad enough, she’s moved up in the depths of winter and her scorching hot neighbour wants her out.

Rory’s got a fifty thousand tonne problem. If he can’t make Kinloch castle profitable, he’s out of a job. He needs a clear head, but there’s someone living in the cabin he saw as his own and she’s turned his world upside down.

Rory needs Zoe out of Scotland, and out of his life. The trouble is, she has no intention of leaving.

Let the games begin…

Pre-order Link – https://amzn.to/3la37GY

My Review:

Of course I love all things Scottish thanks to Outlander as well as the fact that my sister moved there about two years ago. I still want to visit as well, and this story was just a fun addition to keep me in the mood for that.

This book started out with laugh out loud moments and they kept on coming all through the story. Now, there were times when Zoe was laughing out loud, but it was nerves, and she wasn’t really finding things funny, so those were some cringy moments, for her anyway. For me as I read, they led to some more laughs.

Rory was the grumpy Scot who was not happy to see her, and he went out of her way to make it known to her. Some of his tricks were sneaky, and one of them really backfired on him quite a bit. But he had a secret, not just from Zoe, but also from the rest of the town we find out later on. It was one I kind of guessed at when we first met his mother. However even his mom had secrets that really filled more drama into the story, in a way that definitely worked for this story.

Now, as much as I think it would be neat to move to a cottage in Scotland, Zoe is WAY braver than I am. I mean, not only did she know the cabin needed work, but she stayed in it with the roof problems, no or at least a really broken front door, and NO indoor plumbing! And this was even with friends in town who said she could stay with them until she got it fixed up. So Zoe was much more brave-hearted than I could ever be.

The steamy scenes were really steamy, very hot. Although the author used the full clitoris instead of shortening to just clit, and that didn’t roll off my inner tongue (that sounds weird, I just mean the voice reading in my head) smoothly, and kind of took me out of the moment a little. But other than that, hot hot hot!

Other than that little bit, I really enjoyed the story and recommend it for a fun read!

About the Author:

Evie Alexander is the author of sexy romantic comedies with a very British sense of humour. She takes a method approach to her work, believing her capacity to repeatedly fail at life and love is what has given her such a rich supply of material for her writing.

Her interests include reading, eating, saving the world, and fantasising about people who only exist between the pages of her books. She lives in the West country with her family.


Website: https://eviealexanderauthor.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eviealexanderauthor

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/eviealexanderauthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Evie_author

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/21611777.Evie_Alexander

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/evie-alexander

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/eviealexanderauthor/

Giveaway:

Win a signed copy of Highland Games, Shortbread and more… (Open to UK Only)

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

a Rafflecopter giveaway
Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

2 responses to “Blog Tour Review with Giveaway (UK only): Highland Games by Evie Alexander

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.