Lisa’s Looking Forward To #114 – July 6th, 2021

Posted June 30, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in LLFT / 22 Comments

Lisa’s Looking Forward To #114 – July 6th, 2021

Once again I’ll be joining up with the Can’t Wait Wednesday posts hosted by Wishful Endings.

With the 4th of July coming up for us in American to celebrate this weekend, I had to use my kind of fun button this week. So this is a beginning of the month share, and while there are more than last week, still doesn’t seem to be as many as there usually are the first week of a month. Maybe it’s because there were 5 weeks last month? You’d think with kids out of school and people on vacation there would be a lot more books coming out. But then I wonder if it is because the publishers and people in those offices are on vacation right now so maybe that is why there aren’t as many? Who knows. Let’s just look at what is coming out next Tuesday that I am interested in!

I’ve been seeing this one around the blogosphere, but haven’t read a lot of the reviews yet. I feel like one person was kind of disappointed that I kind of skimmed their review, so not sure. But I do love the cover for sure!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

A princess in exile, the boy she left at the altar, six enchanted cranes, and a dragon from the deepest sea.

Shiori, the only princess of Kiata, has a secret. Forbidden magic runs through her veins. Normally she conceals it well, but on the morning of her betrothal ceremony, Shiori loses control. At first, her mistake seems like a stroke of luck, forestalling the wedding she never wanted, but it also catches the attention of Raikama, her stepmother.

Raikama has dark magic of her own, and she banishes the young princess, turning her brothers into cranes, and warning Shiori that she must speak of it to no one: for with every word that escapes her lips, one of her brothers will die.

Peniless, voiceless, and alone, Shiori searches for her brothers, and, on her journey, uncovers a conspiracy to overtake the throne–a conspiracy more twisted and deceitful, more cunning and complex, than even Raikama’s betrayal. Only Shiori can set the kingdom to rights, but to do so she must place her trust in the very boy she fought so hard not to marry. And she must embrace the magic she’s been taught all her life to contain–no matter what it costs her.

From the author of Spin the Dawn comes a breathtakingly original fantasy inspired by East Asian folklore and perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo or Tomi Adeyemi.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

I love the dog on the cover, and the story sounds right up my romantic comedy loving aisle.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

She plans to prove there’s a dozen reasons why life isn’t like a romantic comedy, only to discover the one reason it is…

While her friends wish for meet cutes worthy of their favorite rom-coms, Julia is ready to give up on love. Swiping right has replaced getting swept off your feet and good old-fashioned romance has become, well, old-fashioned.

A writer for a popular website, love becomes the last thing on her mind when impending layoffs threaten her job. As Julia searches for the ultimate pitch to impress her boss, she stumbles upon a resort offering guests a chance to live out their romantic comedy dreams. Real life dating is so bleak, who wouldn’t want to spend a week in a fantasy rom-com world with your best friends?

At the resort, Julia literally falls into a not-quite-meet-cute involving an aggressive seagull and an adorably awkward guy named Luke who is also participating in the rom-com experience. Julia hides the fact she is there to do a story, but Luke harbors a few secrets of his own. Among further encounters with thieving seagulls, a gaggle of corgis, kisses in the rain, and even a karaoke serenade, their feelings deepen quickly. But could their love be real when they haven’t been honest about their true identities? Once the fantasy is over, can they have a relationship in the real world?

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

I love the idea of this one. It sounds kind of unique, and no matter what you say, I know there are some times in my life I wish I’d known what would happen. Yeah, I know it would change where I am today, but I’m okay with that.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

What would you ask your future self? First question: What does it feel like to kiss someone?

Xia is stuck in a lonely, boring loop. Her only escapes are Wiser, an artificial intelligence app she designed to answer questions like her future self, and a mysterious online crush she knows only as ObjectPermanence.

And then one day Xia enrolls at the Foundry, an app incubator for tech prodigies in Silicon Valley.

Suddenly, anything is possible. Flirting with Mast, a classmate also working on AI, leads to a date. Speaking up generates a vindictive nemesis intent on publicly humiliating her. And running into Mitzy Erst, Foundry alumna and Xia’s idol, could give Xia all the answers.

And then Xia receives a shocking message from ObjectPermanence: He is at the Foundry, too. Xia is torn between Mast and ObjectPermanence—just as Mitzy pushes her towards a shiny new future. Xia doesn’t have to ask Wiser to know: The right choice could transform her into the future self of her dreams, but the wrong one could destroy her.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

This one does sound good! I never know with Sourcebooks Fire if I’ll get a bunch of ARCs at once, or none at all for awhile. Right now I seem to be in the second category, because I wish I’d gotten a copy of this one.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

The headlines say she killed her family. The truth? She doesn’t remember.

Andrea McNulty goes to sleep on her eighteenth birthday with a near-perfect life: she’s a high school field hockey star, a doted-upon big sister, the beloved daughter of two happy parents. But when she wakes up in a motel room the next morning, unable to remember what happened the previous night and covered in blood, Andi is a fugitive.

According to the news, Andi’s parents were brutally attacked in the middle of the night. Her father is dead, her mother is in a coma, her little brother Josh is missing–and Andi is the prime suspect. Terrified and on the run from the police, Andi teams up with Nate, the sympathetic boy working the motel’s front desk, to find the real murderer. But while the police are getting further from the killer, the killer is getting closer to Andi–closer than she could ever have imagined.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

In a way, this makes me think of what I’ve been wondering myself lately. I wish I could just see what happened at certain points of my life if I’d made a different choice. This sounds like it could be a very good story!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Stevie Rosenstein has never made a true friend. Never fallen in love. Moved from city to city by her father’s unrelenting job, it’s too hard to care for someone. Trust in anything. The pain of leaving always hurts too much. But she’ll soon learn to trust, to love.

Twice.

Drew and Shane have been best friends through everything. The painful death of Shane’s dad. The bitter separation of Drew’s parents. Through sleepaway camps and family heartache, basketball games and immeasurable loss, they’ve always been there for each other.

When Stevie meets Drew and Shane, life should go on as normal.

But a simple coin toss alters the course of their year in profound and unexpected ways.

Told in dual timelines, debut author Jennie Wexler delivers a heartbreaking and hopeful novel about missed opportunities, second chances, and all the paths that lead us to where we are.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

This is an author I’ve only read one book by, but I enjoyed it enough that I’ve wanted to read others by her, but haven’t yet. This one yet again sounds good!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

From the author of Mask of Shadows comes a dark and intricate story of a girl who must tether herself to a violent ruler to save her crumbling world.

Lorena Adler has a secret—she holds the power of the banished gods, the Noble and the Vile, inside her. She has spent her entire life hiding from the world and her past. She’s content to spend her days as an undertaker in a small town, marry her best friend, Julian, and live an unfulfilling life so long as no one uncovers her true nature.

But when the notoriously bloodthirsty and equally Vile crown prince comes to arrest Julian’s father, he immediately recognizes Lorena for what she is. So she makes a deal—a fair trial for her betrothed’s father in exchange for her service to the crown.

The prince is desperate for her help. He’s spent years trying to repair the weakening Door that holds back the Vile…and he’s losing the battle. As Lorena learns more about the Door and the horrifying price it takes to keep it closed, she’ll have to embrace both parts of herself to survive.

“A triumphant dark fantasy, What We Devour serves up an incredibly smart magic system with a side of eat-the-rich energy.” —Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Final Thoughts:

Only 6 this week, technically 7, because one I posted last week, then took out, actually doesn’t come out till July 6th now. Have you read any of these yet? What new books are you eagerly awaiting this week?

And while you’re here, make sure to go enter into my monthly giveaway HERE. It only runs until tonight at midnight!

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

22 responses to “Lisa’s Looking Forward To #114 – July 6th, 2021

  1. I really want to read Six Crimson Cranes too. It sounds so good! Melonie Johnson! I love her books! I didn’t know she had a new one coming out. Must add that to my wish list immediately. All before I even read the synopsis. LOL I still want to read it. 🙂 If You, Then Me interests me as well. I hope you get a chance to read and enjoy all of these, Lisa!

    • Lisa Mandina

      I haven’t read Melonie Johnson yet, but I always love the covers of her books, and this one does sound so good! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. So many of these sound good! I’m particularly interested in If You, Then Me. What a cute cover and unique premise. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.