The DNF Report #6 – December 2020

Posted January 9, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review, The DNF Report / 4 Comments

The DNF Report #6 - December 2020

Let’s get all of the 2020 DNFs out of the way. I had three for last month, so that’s what I’ll be sharing. Like I mentioned last time I did this post, I think I can get these to show up on my blog reviews sorted by rating, but let’s see if it works this time, because it didn’t last time. Two of the books last month were ones that were supposed to be part of blog tours, and one was a book I’d won from Goodreads.

The Pass (Smart Jocks #5) by Rebecca Jenshak:

I received this book for free from Wildfire Marketing PR in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The DNF Report #6 – December 2020The Pass by Rebecca Jenshak
Series: Smart Jocks #5
Published by One More Chapter on December 8, 2020
Genres: NA Sports Romance
Source: Wildfire Marketing PR
Format: E-galley
My Rating: dnf
Goodreads

I’ve been in love with her for two years.
The first time around, I screwed things up. I hesitated and the moment was gone.
I passed when I shouldn’t have.
Not a total loss. I gained a best friend instead of whatever we might have been.
Sydney is hands down the best thing that’s ever happened to me, and I’ll do anything to keep her in my life. Even bury my feelings deep inside.
But one hot summer together at the lake filled with lots of teeny-tiny bikinis and I’m ready to risk it all for a second chance.
It’s time to take my shot.
(This is Shaw and Sydney's story!)

My thoughts:

I had read or listened to another book by this author, Sweet Spot, and really enjoyed it, so I signed up to read this one. Unfortunately I just couldn’t seem to get into it. I don’t know if it’s because both main characters were athletic, and I’m not, so I couldn’t connect with either of them really. I think that was my issue, not that the book was bad at all, it just wasn’t the right read for me.

The Spark by Jules Wake:

I received this book for free from Rachel's Random Resources in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The DNF Report #6 – December 2020The Spark by Jules Wake
Published by One More Chapter on December 11, 2020
Genres: Adult Romantic Comedy
Source: Rachel's Random Resources
Format: E-galley
My Rating: dnf
Goodreads

Jess is falling for Sam.
Sam is falling for Jess.
But it seems life will do whatever it takes to make them fall apart.
When Jess and Sam lock eyes at a party, a spark ignites. The spark. But love at first sight isn’t like the movies, especially when Sam’s ex, Victoria, is determined to make their honeymoon period a living hell.
Is love at first sight enough?
The perfect uplifting romcom for fans of Sophie Kinsella, Beth O’Leary and Lindsey Kelk!

My thoughts:

This book also just didn’t work for me. First of all, I didn’t like that the guy we were going to have for the love interest, I assumed from the beginning, already had a girlfriend. And he let Jess go on thinking they were maybe hitting it off before telling her he had a girlfriend. Secondly something that I have issue with sometimes with British authors is the amount of slang that I don’t know as an American. Again, that’s not a problem for the book itself, it’s just a reason I don’t quite get into it. I saw another review on Goodreads that said this isn’t really a rom-com, it is more women’s fiction, and if I’d known that, I’d not have picked it up probably in the first place. So you might enjoy it, it just wasn’t for me.

Write Before Christmas by Julie Hammerle:

I received this book for free from Goodreads Giveaway in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

The DNF Report #6 – December 2020Write Before Christmas by Julie Hammerle
on November 30, 2020
Genres: Adult Contemporary Romance
Source: Goodreads Giveaway
Format: eBook
My Rating: dnf
Goodreads

You’ve probably heard of me.Reclusive fantasy author turned famous when his series got developed into a mega TV hit.Except now I’m way behind deadline, and the whole world is waiting to see what I’ll write next. The pressure is getting to me, and I. Can’t. Write.Cue: small town where people don’t recognize me.Cue: my assistant insisting on a personal chef to keep me fed and nothing more.Cue: finding the first bit of inspiration I’ve felt in months whenever she’s around…Am I a walking cliche now, or what?Dani Cooper seems to have her own hurdles to jump this holiday season. Newly divorced, looking for her next move. She’s the first person who’s seen me for me in way too long. And I see her, too--as way more than just an employee, a divorcee, a cook. She’s becoming my muse…But when my Christmas deadline hits, will it spell the end of us, too?

My thoughts:

This one had so much potential. I mean I adored the title, and I was in such a mood for anything that had to do with Christmas this year. But there were some weird jumps the story took, like way too soon with some things, and other things that just seemed to come out of nowhere. And it didn’t keep my interest enough that I wanted to pick it back up when I had time, or to keep me from putting it down and going to sleep. So unfortunately, the first book I’ve won through Goodreads in a long time and I just couldn’t get into it.

Final Thoughts:

Well, that’s only three, for December. And so far I don’t have any in January, knock on wood. We’ll see if these show up on my Reviews by Rating page when I’m done posting this. If not, it means I’m still learning this WordPress stuff!

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

4 responses to “The DNF Report #6 – December 2020

    • Lisa Mandina

      Yeah, I don’t feel too bad about it anymore. Because I know just because I didn’t like it or get into it, doesn’t mean other people might not enjoy it! Thanks for stopping by!

    • Lisa Mandina

      Yeah, and I feel bad because I finally won a book on Goodreads again, but I just couldn’t get into it. Glad I wasn’t the only one who felt that way. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.