Genre: YA Historical Fiction

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway:  Bluebird by Sharon Cameron

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway..

Posted October 4, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour, giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the Bluebird by Sharon Cameron Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway! Find it: Amazon, Kindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD,  Bookshop.org Synopsis: Author of Reese’s Book Club YA Pick The Light in Hidden Places, Sharon Cameron, delivers an emotionally gripping and […]

ARC Review:  The Corpse Queen by Heather Herrman

ARC Review: The Corpse Queen ..

Posted September 14, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 4 Comments

Synopsis: In this dark and twisty feminist historical thriller, a teenage girl starts a new life as a grave robber but quickly becomes entangled in a murderer’s plans. Soon after her best friend Kitty mysteriously dies, orphaned seventeen-year-old Molly Green is sent away to live with her “aunt.” With no relations that she knows of, […]

Review:  So Many Beginnings (Remixed Classics #2) by Bethany C. Morrow

Review: So Many Beginnings (R..

Posted September 7, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments

Synopsis: Four young Black sisters come of age during the American Civil War in So Many Beginnings, a warm and powerful YA remix of the classic novel Little Women by national bestselling author Bethany C. Morrow.  North Carolina, 1863. As the American Civil War rages on, the Freedmen’s Colony of Roanoke Island is blossoming, a haven for the recently […]

ARC Review:  The Bones of Ruin by Sarah Raughley

ARC Review: The Bones of Ruin..

Posted September 4, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 2 Comments

Synopsis: An African tightrope walker who can’t die gets embroiled in a secret society’s deadly gladiatorial tournament in this thrilling historical fantasy set in an alternate 1880s London, perfect for fans of The Last Magician and The Gilded Wolves. As an African tightrope dancer in Victorian London, Iris is used to being strange. She is certainly a strange […]

ARC Review:  The Witch Haven by Sasha Peyton Smith

ARC Review: The Witch Haven b..

Posted August 30, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 0 Comments

Synopsis: The Last Magician meets The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy in this thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy following a young woman who discovers she has magical powers and is thrust into a battle between witches and wizards. In 1911 New York City, seventeen-year-old Frances Hallowell spends her days as a seamstress, mourning the mysterious death of […]

L-L-L-Little Reviews #33:  Two Past Due YA

L-L-L-Little Reviews #33: Two..

Posted August 14, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 6 Comments

So I was going to give each of these books their own post, but with school starting up, and I can’t really do any blogging at my new library like I did at my old library, I’m limited in time so this will get me staying as caught up as I can! Stepsister by Jennifer […]

E-galley Review:  My Contrary Mary by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

E-galley Review: My Contrary ..

Posted June 21, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 6 Comments

Synopsis: Welcome to Renaissance France, a place of poison and plots, of beauties and beasts, of mice and . . . queens? Mary is the queen of Scotland and the jewel of the French court. Except when she’s a mouse. Yes, reader, Mary is an Eðian (shapeshifter) in a kingdom where Verities rule. It’s a […]

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway:  Curse of the Specter Queen by Jenny Elder Moke

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway..

Posted June 2, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour, Review / 3 Comments

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN by  Jenny Elder Moke Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!   About the Book: Formats: Hardcover, eBook, audiobook Find it: Goodreads, Amazon, Kindle, Audible, B&N, iBooks, Kobo, TBD, Bookshop.org A female Indiana Jones meets […]

ARC Review:  These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong

ARC Review: These Violent Del..

Posted November 23, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 7 Comments

Synopsis: Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the tune of debauchery. A blood feud between two gangs runs the […]

ARC Review: Eventide by Sarah Goodman

ARC Review: Eventide by Sarah ..

Posted October 4, 2020 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 0 Comments

Synopsis: “Eventide is an evocative YA historical fantasy thriller by debut author Sarah Goodman, for fans of Jennifer Donnelly and Libba Bray. MADNESS, SECRETS, AND LIES Wheeler, Arkansas, 1907 When their father descends into madness after the death of their mother, Verity Pruitt and her little sister Lilah find themselves on an orphan train to rural […]