Lisa’s Looking Forward To #71 – July 28th, 2020

July 22, 2020 LLFT 16

Once again I’ll be joining up with the Can’t Wait Wednesday posts hosted by Wishful Endings.  Last week of the month means a few less than last week coming out.

From my ARC list for July 28th, 2020:

Love the cover and I know I’ve seen some reviews around the blogosphere that I need to go check out.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina meets The Craft when modern witches must save teens stolen by an ancient demon in this YA fantasy-thriller debut.

Dan and Liss are witches. The Black Book granted them that power. Harnessing that power feels good, especially when everything in their lives makes them feel powerless.

During a spell gone wrong, Liss’s boyfriend is snatched away by an evil entity and presumed dead. Dan and Liss’s friendship dies that night, too. How can they practice magic after the darkness that they conjured?

Months later, Liss discovers that her boyfriend is alive, trapped underground in the grips of an ancient force. She must save him, and she needs Dan and the power of The Black Book to do so. Dan is quickly sucked back into Liss’s orbit and pushes away her best friend, Alexa. But Alexa has some big secrets she’s hiding and her own unique magical disaster to deal with.

When another teenager disappears, the girls know it’s no coincidence. What greedy magic have they awakened? And what does it want with these teens it has stolen?

Set in the atmospheric wilds of California’s northern coast, Sasha Laurens’s thrilling debut novel is about the complications of friendship, how to take back power, and how to embrace the darkness that lives within us all.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

I definitely want to read this one, as well as purchase for my school library for my students.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Dear Martin meets Just Mercy in this unflinching yet uplifting YA novel that explores the racist injustices in the American justice system.

Every week, seventeen-year-old Tracy Beaumont writes letters to Innocence X, asking the organization to help her father, an innocent Black man on death row. After seven years, Tracy is running out of time–her dad has only 267 days left. Then the unthinkable happens. The police arrive in the night, and Tracy’s older brother, Jamal, goes from being a bright, promising track star to a “thug” on the run, accused of killing a white girl. Determined to save her brother, Tracy investigates what really happened between Jamal and Angela down at the Pike. But will Tracy and her family survive the uncovering of the skeletons of their Texas town’s racist history that still haunt the present?

Fans of Nic Stone, Tiffany D. Jackson, and Jason Reynolds won’t want to miss this provocative and gripping debut. 

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

I’ve read one other title by this author and enjoyed it, and I do miss the malls of my teen years. So I thought this one sounded maybe fun.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

New York Times bestselling author Megan McCafferty returns to her roots with this YA coming of age story set in a New Jersey mall.

The year is 1991. Scrunchies, mixtapes and 90210 are, like, totally fresh. Cassie Worthy is psyched to spend the summer after graduation working at the Parkway Center Mall. In six weeks, she and her boyfriend head off to college in NYC to fulfill The Plan: higher education and happily ever after.

But you know what they say about the best laid plans…

Set entirely in a classic “monument to consumerism,” the novel follows Cassie as she finds friendship, love, and ultimately herself, in the most unexpected of places. Megan McCafferty, beloved New York Times bestselling author of the Jessica Darling series, takes readers on an epic trip back in time to The Mall. 

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

So the publisher had reached out to me a while back about this, and while I got the e-galley of this, I’d really thought they would send me a physical copy as well. But they didn’t. However I do hope to get this read by the end of this week if not tomorrow for a review!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Damsel meets A Heart in a Body in the World in this incisive and lyrical feminist fairy tale about a princess determined to save her sisters from a curse, even if it means allying herself with the very witch who cast it.

The Princesses of Ever are beloved by the kingdom and their father, the King. They are cherished, admired.

Cursed.

Jane, Alice, Nora, Grace, and Eden carry the burden of being punished for a crime they did not commit, or even know about. They are each cursed to be Without one essential thing—the ability to eat, sleep, love, remember, or hope. And their mother, the Queen, is imprisoned, frozen in time in an unbreakable glass box.

But when Eden’s curse sets in on her thirteenth birthday, the princesses are given the opportunity to break the curse, preventing it from becoming a True Spell and dooming the princesses for life. To do this, they must confront the one who cast the spell—Reagan, a young witch who might not be the villain they thought—as well as the wickedness plaguing their own kingdom…and family.

Told through the eyes of Reagan and Jane—the witch and the bewitched—this insightful twist of a fairy tale explores power in a patriarchal kingdom not unlike our own.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Final Thoughts:

Only four this week, two less than last week. Had a couple dates that looked like they’d changed and one that I decided not to feature since I hadn’t read the first book. Are any of these on your TBR, or have you already read them? If so, which do you recommend? Leave me a link to your post in your comment and I’ll be sure to return the visit!

Also, while you’re here, make sure to go enter my monthly giveaway HERE.

16 Responses to “Lisa’s Looking Forward To #71 – July 28th, 2020”

    • Lisa Mandina

      If I would quit searching through Edelweiss I could stop, but nooooo, I keep going. I even went ahead and ordered the fill in pages for my 2021 planner so I could add in the titles they’ve got for the first four months of next year! lol. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Lisa Mandina

      That is always cool when it is set somewhere we live. Thanks for stopping by!

  1. ShootingStarsMag

    There are so many books coming out this year and early next that I’m super excited about. I have This Is My America ordered, and I can’t wait to read it.

    -Lauren

  2. Sam@wlabb

    I am ashamed to say I pushed The Mall down my TBR because of reviews. I probably will take the plunge at some point.

    • Lisa Mandina

      I think I have seen some less than stellar reviews. So it is just on my possible TBR list. Not my necessary one. LOL. Thanks for stopping by!

    • Lisa Mandina

      Ooh, I’ll be interested to see how you like it! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.