ARC Review: The Reunion by Kit Frick

Posted August 26, 2023 by Lisa Mandina in Review / 8 Comments

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

ARC Review:  The Reunion by Kit FrickThe Reunion by Kit Frick
Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books on August 29, 2023
Genres: YA Mystery, YA Thriller
Pages: 317
Source: the publisher
Format: ARC
My Rating: four-stars
Goodreads
Buy on AmazonBuy on Barnes & NobleBuy on Audible

Blurb:

From the author of I Killed Zoe Spanos comes a YA thriller in the vein of The White Lotus and Karen M. McManus’s The Cousins following a doomed family reunion at a posh Caribbean resort, where old grudges and dangerous secrets culminate in murder.

Eleven Mayweathers went on vacation. Ten came home.

It’s been years since the fragmented Mayweather clan was all in one place, but the engagement of Addison and Mason’s mom to the dad of their future stepbrother, Theo, brings the whole family to sunny Cancún, Mexico, for winter break. Add cousin Natalia to the mix, and it doesn’t take long for tempers to fray and tensions to rise. A week of forced family “fun” reveals that everyone has something to hide, and as secrets bubble to the surface, no one is safe from the fallout. By the end of the week, one member of the reunion party will be dead—and everyone’s a 
The Addison needs a better hiding place.
The Theo just wants to mend fences.
The Natalia doesn’t want to talk about the past.
The Mason needs to keep his temper under control.

It started as a week in paradise meant to bring them together. But the Mayweathers are about to learn the hard way that family bonding can be deadly.

My Review

I’ve only tried one other book by this author and I DNFed it. However since the publisher sent me this one, I decided to give the author another try. And this one was definitely interesting enough that it kept me going till the end.

It started out with a lot of characters and I was unsure if I would be able to connect to them. But most of the characters were easy enough to tell who was who through their POV sections. Now you know from the beginning that one of the teens disappears, you just don’t know which one. Even with all the different updates as hotel bulletins, etc., between chapters, it doesn’t give it away till closer till the end when you start to have some thoughts about who might be the one.

Once I found out who it was, my ideas on what I’d read changed and I wasn’t sure what all the clues had been leading me to meant. And that is what I like, a mystery that can keep me guessing. In the end it was totally a surprise on what happened, and I liked that! I will definitely be getting this for my school library and hope to read more by this author in the future.

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
Tweet 0
Pin Share20

Tags:


8 responses to “ARC Review: The Reunion by Kit Frick

    • Lisa Mandina

      It’s probably not quite what you read, but may have had a few aspects that are similar to some you read. But it definitely makes me want to give the author another chance now.

    • Lisa Mandina

      It was her last book, Very Bad People. I haven’t read the Zoe Spanos book. It might be a good one!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.