Blog Tour Review with Giveaway: Bluebird by Sharon Cameron

Posted October 4, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in Blog Tour, giveaway, Review / 0 Comments

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway:  Bluebird by Sharon Cameron

I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the Bluebird by Sharon Cameron Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Blog Tour Review with Giveaway:  Bluebird by Sharon CameronBluebird by Sharon Cameron
Published by Scholastic Press on October 5, 2021
Genres: YA Historical Fiction
Pages: 464
Source: the publisher
Format: ARC
My Rating: four-half-stars
Goodreads

Find it: Amazon, KindleAudibleB&NiBooks, KoboTBDBookshop.org

Synopsis:

Author of Reese’s Book Club YA Pick The Light in Hidden Places, Sharon Cameron, delivers an emotionally gripping and utterly immersive thriller, perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys’s Salt to the Sea.

A historical novel, set in postwar New York City.

In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for the streets of New York City, stepping from the fiery aftermath of one war into another, far colder one, where power is more important than principles, and lies are more plentiful than the truth. Eva holds the key to a deadly secret: Project Bluebird — a horrific experiment of the concentration camps, capable of tipping the balance of world power. Both the Americans and the Soviets want Bluebird, and it is something that neither should ever be allowed to possess.

But Eva hasn’t come to America for secrets or power. She hasn’t even come for a new life. She has come to America for one thing: justice. And the Nazi that has escaped its net.

My Review:

This book grabbed me from the very start. We went back and forth between two different years. Until the first year caught up with the second and then we continued with where we were. The characters in the two years had different names, but eventually you realized how they were related to each other. And that they were the same. The story had a lot of things about the end of World War II that aren’t necessarily well known and I always am interested in learning more about not only the people who survived, but people who did things to help them.

The setting jumped between Germany and the US, specifically New York City. And I really enjoyed the look at NYC in the 1940s. It was easy to see why Eva was so conflicted about the deal she had made. But even more why she was so terrified of the people that seemed to following her and wanting things from her. Through all of what was actually going on with her mission, her mind was also slowly opening up and showing her memories that she had hidden, or been forced to block out.

All of the characters in this book were full of depth and had so much to contribute to the story. Eva and her friend Annemarie, both had been through things that were similar, although Annemarie had things worse at the moment we kind of begin with the two. Both reacted differently and dealt with things differently. And that was such a realistic and honest way the author played this story. It is even something the author mentions in her note at the end of the book. Talking about how young women who had been involved in the Nazi cause and been a part of it often were left not knowing how to react to what had been their way of life. And the Soviet soldiers who then were not the great rescuers in these situations.

While there was a bit of a romance between the handsome Jake and Eva, the obstacles in their path were numerous and quite large. And I feel the author handled that aspect respectfully and perfectly for this type of a story. And in the end wrapped it up in such a way that really was just right.

A great book, with some great history that isn’t as widely known as other subjects from this time period. It is one I will definitely be purchasing to put in my school library for my students to read.

Grab The Light in Hidden Places now!

About the Author:

SHARON CAMERON’s debut novel The Dark Unwinding was awarded the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators’ Sue Alexander Award for Most Promising New Work and the SCBWI Crystal Kite Award, and was named a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection. Sharon is also the author of its sequel, A Spark Unseen; Rook, which was selected as an Indiebound Indie Next List Top Ten selection, a YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults selection, and a Parents’ Choice gold medalist; and The Forgetting, a #1 New York Times bestseller and an Indie Next Pick of the List selection, and its companion novel, The Knowing. The Light in Hidden Places received two starred reviews, was a Reese’s YA Book Club pick, and received fantastic media coverage for Sharon’s strong research and affecting prose. It has sold in 14 languages. Sharon lives with her family in Nashville, Tennessee and can be found at sharoncameronbooks.com.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | InstagramGoodreads | Amazon | BookBub


Giveaway:

3 winners will receive a finished copy of BLUEBIRD. US Only.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

9/21/2021YA Books CentralExcerpt
9/22/2021Kait Plus BooksExcerpt
9/22/2021Rajiv’s ReviewsReview
9/23/2021Lifestyle of MeReview
9/23/2021Sometimes Leelynn ReadsReview
9/24/2021Book-KeepingReview
9/25/2021Just Another ReaderReview

Week Two:

9/26/2021Review Thick & ThinReview
9/27/2021Balancing Books and Bottles withReview
9/28/2021Fire and IceReview
9/28/2021The Pages In-BetweenReview
9/29/2021#BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee BlogReview
9/30/2021A Dream Within A DreamExcerpt
9/30/2021BookHounds YAExcerpt
10/1/2021MomfluensterReview
10/1/2021Locks, Hooks and BooksReview
10/2/2021@CurlygrannylovestoreadReview

Week Three:

10/3/2021Two Points of InterestReview
10/4/2021Lisa Loves LiteratureReview
10/4/2021@minnesota_mailerReview
Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.