Lisa’s Looking Forward To #119 – August 10th, 2021

Posted August 4, 2021 by Lisa Mandina in LLFT / 18 Comments

Lisa’s Looking Forward To #119 – August 10th, 2021

Once again I’ll be joining up with the Can’t Wait Wednesday posts hosted by Wishful Endings.

Not quite as many as last week, the second week of the month is usually a few less.

The publisher sent me an ARC of this one. My review should be posted on the 8th, this Sunday.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

The Hating Game meets I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter in this irresistible romance starring a Mexican American teen who discovers love and profound truths about the universe when she spends her summer on a road trip across the country. 

When her twin sister reaches social media stardom, Moon Fuentez accepts her fate as the ugly, unwanted sister hidden in the background, destined to be nothing more than her sister’s camerawoman. But this summer, Moon also takes a job as the “merch girl” on a tour bus full of beautiful influencers and her fate begins to shift in the best way possible.

Most notable is her bunkmate and new nemesis, Santiago Phillips, who is grumpy, combative, and also the hottest guy Moon has ever seen.

Moon is certain she hates Santiago and that he hates her back. But as chance and destiny (and maybe, probably, close proximity) bring the two of them in each other’s perpetual paths, Moon starts to wonder if that’s really true. She even starts to question her destiny as the unnoticed, unloved wallflower she always thought she was.

Could this summer change Moon’s life as she knows it?

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Sounds like it could be kind of unique. Just depends how the author does the story!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

The Wizard of Oz meets Ready Player One in this darkly comic YA novel about identity, depression, giving up, and finding your way home.

High school senior Rainbow is trapped with three other teens in a game-like world that may or may not be real. Together, they must complete quests and gain experience in order to access their own forgotten memories, decode what has happened to them, and find a portal home.

As Rainbow’s memories slowly return, the story of a lonely teen facing senior year as the new kid in a small town emerges. Surreal, absurdist humor balances sensitively handled themes of suicide, depression, and the search for identity in an unpredictable and ultimately hopeful page-turner that’s perfect for fans of Shaun David Hutchinson, Adam Silvera, and Libba Bray’s Going Bovine.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Another one that the cover totally grabbed me. I don’t know if it sounds that original, but it could be good.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

A young witch tries to unravel the mystery of who is framing her for dark magic in Georgia Bowers’ creepy YA debut fantasy, Mark of the Wicked. 

Magic always leaves its mark.

All her life, Matilda has been told one thing about her magic: You use only when necessary. But Matilda isn’t interested in being a good witch. She wants revenge and popularity, and to live her life free of consequences, free of the scars that dark magic leaves on her face as a reminder of her misdeeds.

When a spell goes awry and the new boy at school catches her in the act, Matilda thinks her secret might be out. But far from being afraid, Oliver already knows about her magic – and he wants to learn more. As Oliver and Matilda grow closer, bizarre things begin to happen: Animals show up with their throats slashed and odd markings carved into their bodies, a young girl dies mysteriously, and everyone blames Matilda. But she isn’t responsible — at least, not that she can remember. As her magic begins to spin out of control, Matilda must decide for herself what makes a good witch, and discover the truth…before anyone else turns up dead.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

The first book in this series was good, but I never got around to requesting the second one, and right now I’m so busy with review books scheduled, I saw a tour, but didn’t sign up. I kind of like the cover of this one maybe better than the first book?

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

The Sisters of Reckoning is the blockbuster sequel to Charlotte Nicole Davis’s alternate Old West-set commercial fantasy adventure. 

The Good Luck Girls are free. Aster’s sister and friends have new lives across the border in Ferron, while Aster remains in Arketta, helping more girls escape. But news of a new welcome house opening fills Aster with a need to do more than just help individual girls. And an unexpected reunion gives her an idea of how to do it. From there, grows a wildly ambitious plan to free all dustbloods, who live as prisoners to Arketta’s landmasters and debt slavery.

When Clementine and the others return from Ferron, they become the heart of a vibrant group of fearless fighters, working to unite the various underclasses and convince them to join in the fight. Along the way, friendships will be forged, lives will be lost, and love will take root even in the harshest of circumstances, between the most unexpected of lovers.

But will Arketta’s dustbloods finally come into power and freedom, or will the resistance just open them up to a new sort of danger?

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Sounds like it could be a cute contemporary.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

A gorgeous story of first love by Wattpad mega-star Yuen Wright.

If you love The Kissing Booth and Holly Bourne, then you will love The Hoodie Girl!

Wren hides behind her hoodie at school. But when the handsome, popular Asher notices her, she realizes she might not want to be invisible after all… 

Wren Martin plans to keep a low profile to finish her time at Eastview High School. But when she gets a new babysitting job, it turns out she’s looking after Asher Reed’s sister. 

Asher is handsome, popular, practically the king of the school. But soon he’s turning his attention to her, and the two are growing close.

Should Wren stay invisible? Or could Asher be everything she’s ever wanted?

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

So I had on my blog calendar that I was supposed to do a review of this for the publishers, but I’m not sure how, I don’t see an email with a link to an e-galley and I haven’t received a physical ARC. So I don’t know if I’ll be reading this one or not. It does sound good!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Nothing ever happens in Dawson, Colorado.

Until high school senior Cassidy Roekiem’s mom checks into a “wellness center,” but nothing is wrong with her.

Then people start seeing lights in the sky and missing chunks of time, but the town insists nothing is going on.

And now Hayden, the new boy at school who keeps to himself and is more than a little mysterious, starts to notice her like it’s nothing out of the ordinary.

Suddenly, “nothing” is starting to feel a whole lot like something. And everything leads back to Hayden. The boy she’s starting to fall for. The boy with too many dark secrets for his kind heart. The boy she’s pretty sure isn’t human…

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Final Thoughts:

Only six this week, less than half of what I had last week. I originally had about three more to share, but turns out that two of them have already been published and one looks to be postponed till next year. Have you read any of these yet? What new books are you eagerly awaiting this week?

And while you’re here, make sure to go enter into my monthly giveaway HERE.

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

18 responses to “Lisa’s Looking Forward To #119 – August 10th, 2021

    • Lisa Mandina

      I had it planned to read, but they never sent me a copy, so I just skipped over to another book! My August and September are packed, so that actually helped me work on at least getting one book ahead of where I need to be. lol

  1. John Smith

    I’m going to have to look up more about “Rainbow In the Dark”–that sounds like a book I’d really enjoy!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.