Blog Tour with Giveaway: It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill

March 12, 2021 author interview, Blog Tour, giveaway 6

Blog Tour with Giveaway:  It's Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill

Title: It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story
Author: Lauren Morrill
Published by: Farrar Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication date: March 9th, 2021
Genres: Comedy, Romance, Young Adult

Synopsis:

A delicious love story with all the toppings, Lauren Morrill’s It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story is a contemporary YA rom-com about love, friendship, and pizza, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han.

After her mother gave birth to her in the bathroom of a local pizzeria, Beck has been given the dubious privilege of having minor fame, free pizza for life, and a guaranteed job when she turns sixteen—a job she unfortunately can’t afford to turn down.

Now she’s stuck with her geeky co-workers instead of taking Instagram-ready shots with her best friends (and her epic crush).

But maybe the pizza people aren’t all bad. Maybe that pizza delivery guy is kind of cute. And maybe there’s a way to make this Bathroom Baby thing work for her. Because when disaster strikes the beloved pizza place that’s started to feel like home, she’s going to need a miracle—one that might even mean bringing her two worlds together.

Goodreads / Amazon / Barnes & Noble / iBooks / Kobo / Google Play

Author Interview:

1.  What does your writing process look like? Do you know the whole story when you start?  Or do you just start writing and go with it (seat of the pants writing)?  If you plan it out, how do you do that?  Outline, notecards, post-it-notes, etc.?  

Most of my book ideas come to me as a hook and an opening, so I quickly try to get those down. From there, I usually do a rough outline, mostly some major scenes I want to hit, but I try to figure out how to string them together as I go. I like to handwrite as much as possible, but something about the tactile sensation of pen on paper keeps me focused. I usually go back and rework my outline whenever I get stuck, switching between brainstorming and drafting as I go.

2. Do you edit as you go, or wait till you’re finished before you edit?  How many times would you say you go over it yourself before having another set of eyes look it over? 

I edit as I go, usually whenever I get stuck. I like to go back and reread what I’ve got all at once to pull me back into the story. As a result, I usually don’t have to do as much revision before I send it off to a critique partner or my agent. My favorite way to do revisions is to talk it over with someone – a reader, my agent, or my editor.

3.  Are you part of a writers group that gets together and helps each other with their writing?

For years I never showed my work to anyone other than my agent and editor. It’s only recently that I started getting feedback from writer friends. I think part of me was scared someone would tell me the writing wasn’t good (hi, imposter syndrome!). But lately I’ve been working with two author friends who both have very different perspectives, and it’s really cracked open my process. I love collaboration, which is a thing you don’t get much of when you’re a writer!

4.  What tips do you have for aspiring writers?

Read everything, and pay close attention to how the author is telling their story. How are they developing characters? How are they moving through time? How do they establish their setting? Where do you see moments that the plot pushes forward or turns? Read in genres you love and genres you don’t so much. If you’re reading something you don’t like, try to figure out what about it doesn’t work for you.

5.   What are your favorite:

Books/authors/genres

My favorite authors are the ones who get me to fully disappear into a story because the characters, plots, and settings all feel completely authentic. It’s almost like you’re in the world, not reading about it. My favorites are Stephanie Perkins, Sarah Dessen, Emily Henry, Julie Murphy, and Angie Thomas. I also have a soft spot for celebrity memoirs on audiobook.

Movies/TV Shows

Romantic comedies are my jam, as well as anything that has, at its core, a warm heart. This is why I cannot stop rewatching Ted Lasso (which isn’t a rom com, but has a surprise rom com plot in it!). Same with Parks and Rec and The Good Place.

Music

I have a master playlist that I throw on when I’m writing. A lot of it is folk/americana along with what 10 Things I Hate About You described as “angry girl music of the indie rock persuasion.”

Food/Writing snack

A fountain coke with extra ice is my must-have.

About the Author:

LAUREN MORRILL grew up in Maryville, Tennessee, where she was a short-term Girl Scout, a (not so) proud member of the marching band, and a trouble-making editor for the school newspaper. She graduated from Indiana University with a major in history and a minor in rock & roll, and now lives in Macon, GA with her husband and sons.

Website / Goodreads / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Pinterest

Giveaway:

Tour-wide giveaway (US/CAN)

  • Print copy of It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hosted by:

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

6 Responses to “Blog Tour with Giveaway: It’s Kind of a Cheesy Love Story by Lauren Morrill”

  1. Debra Branigan

    I love these YA rom-coms and this one sounds like a hoot to read. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.