Lisa’s Looking Forward To #73 – August 11th, 2020

August 5, 2020 LLFT 18

Once again I’ll be joining up with the Can’t Wait Wednesday posts hosted by Wishful Endings.  Strangely for the second week of the month I don’t have a ton of books to share. I wonder if it’s because this is usually when school is back in and so a lot of books don’t come out then? YA books especially?

From my ARC list for August 11th, 2020:

I love that this one is going to have Hindu mythology woven into it. And of course it is a beautiful cover!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

This gorgeously imagined YA debut blends shades of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust and a breathtaking landscape of Hindu mythology into a radiant contemporary fantasy.

The daughter of a star and a mortal, Sheetal is used to keeping secrets. Pretending to be “normal.” But when an accidental flare of her starfire puts her human father in the hospital, Sheetal needs a full star’s help to heal him. A star like her mother, who returned to the sky long ago.

Sheetal’s quest to save her father will take her to a celestial court of shining wonders and dark shadows, where she must take the stage as her family’s champion in a competition to decide the next ruling house of the heavens–and win, or risk never returning to Earth at all.

Brimming with celestial intrigue, this sparkling YA debut is perfect for fans of Roshani Chokshi and Laini Taylor.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

So this sounds really good, I am a bit of a reality tv watcher, well Survivor and The Amazing Race. Plus it talks about Lost, which other than the ending, I liked. I’ve wanted to read other books by this author but haven’t had the chance yet either.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Warcross meets Lost in this haunting young adult sci-fi thriller in which teens compete to survive in the wilderness for one million dollars on a new virtual reality show. When something goes horribly wrong and the contestants realize no one is coming to save them, they must question their very reality—and how much of the game is really for show.

Each contestant has their own reasons—and their own secrets—for joining the new virtual reality show CUT/OFF that places a group of teenagers alone in the wilderness. It’s a simple premise: whoever lasts the longest without “tapping out” wins a cash prize. Not only that, new software creates a totally unprecedented television experience, allowing viewers to touch, see, and live everything along with the contestants. But what happens when “tapping out” doesn’t work and no one comes to save you? What happens when the whole world seemingly disappears while you’re stranded in the wild? Four teenagers must confront their greatest fears, their deepest secrets, and one another when they discover they are truly cut off from reality. Sci-fi, mystery, and romance converge in this high-stakes, fast-paced read that will leave you guessing to the very last moment.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Another one that has glimpses of reality tv, and books and working at a bookstore, so I’m intrigued!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

“The Amazing Race” meets Around the World in 80 Days as a woman desperate to save her family bookstore falls for her competition.

Born and raised in New York City, Ramona Keene dreams of attending photography school and traveling to Paris, but her reality never quite catches up with her imagination. Instead, she works at her uncles’ quaint bookstore, where the tea is plentiful and all the adventures are between the covers of secondhand books. But when the new landlord arrives with his Evil Nephew in tow, Romy’s quiet life comes crashing down. He plans to triple the rent, something her uncles can’t afford.

In order to earn the money to help save the bookstore, Romy applies for a job at ExLibris Expeditions, a company that re-creates literary journeys. Romy snags the oddest internship ever: retrace Phileas Fogg’s journey from Jules Verne’s Around the World in 80 Days and plan a suitable, contemporary adventure for a client. The task is close to impossible; sticking to the original route means no commercial aircraft permitted, and she’s got a lot less than eighty days to work with. Shaking off her fear of leaving home, Romy takes on the challenge, only to discover she’s got competition. Worse, Dominic Madison turns out to be the – unfortunately hot – nephew of her family’s worst enemy.

Can Romy win the race and circle the globe in time to save the bookstore? And what happens when she starts to fall for the very person who may just be the death of her dreams?

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

I got an ARC of the first one in this series, but none for this one. It’s possible I got the ARC from the bookstore, which I no longer get to work at. 🙁 But I still want to read! And this one is about a librarian! Except for the cat part, it might be me!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

New York Times -bestselling author Meg Cabot’s returns with a charming romance between a children’s librarian and the town sheriff in the second book in the Little Bridge Island series.

Welcome to Little Bridge, one of the smallest, most beautiful islands in the Florida Keys, home to sandy white beaches, salt-rimmed margaritas, and stunning sunsets—a place where nothing goes under the radar and love has a way of sneaking up when least expected…

A broken engagement only gave Molly Montgomery additional incentive to follow her dream job from the Colorado Rockies to the Florida Keys. Now, as Little Bridge Island Public Library’s head of children’s services, Molly hopes the messiest thing in her life will be her sticky-note covered desk. But fate—in the form of a newborn left in the restroom—has other ideas. So does the sheriff who comes to investigate the “abandonment”.  When John Hartwell folds all six-feet-three of himself into a tiny chair and insists that whoever left the baby is a criminal, Molly begs to differ and asks what he’s doing about the Island’s real crime wave (if thefts of items from homes that have been left unlocked could be called that). Not the best of starts, but the man’s arrogance is almost as distracting as his blue eyes. Almost… 

John would be pretty irritated if one of his deputies had a desk as disorderly as Molly’s. Good thing she doesn’t work for him, considering how attracted he is to her. Molly’s lilting librarian voice makes even the saltiest remarks go down sweeter, which is bad as long as she’s a witness but might be good once the case is solved—provided he hasn’t gotten on her last nerve by then. Recently divorced, John has been having trouble adjusting to single life as well as single parenthood. But something in Molly’s beautiful smile gives John hope that his old life on Little Bridge might suddenly hold new promise—if only they can get over their differences. 

Clever, hilarious, and fun, No Offense will tug at readers’ heartstrings and make them fall in love with Little Bridge Island and its unique characters once again.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Final Thoughts:

Only four this week compared to the 12 I had last week! Are any of these on your TBR, or have you already read them? If so, which do you recommend? Leave me a link to your post in your comment and I’ll be sure to return the visit!

Also, while you’re here, make sure to go enter my monthly giveaway HERE. It’s open till Friday at midnight!

18 Responses to “Lisa’s Looking Forward To #73 – August 11th, 2020”

  1. Sam@wlabb

    I have Eighty Days to Elsewhere but have been putting it off because of mixed reviews (I am terrible!). Maybe you will read it before me and tell me if I should bother with it.

    • Lisa Mandina

      Ooh, I haven’t seen reviews on it yet, now I need to go look myself! Thanks for stopping by!

    • Lisa Mandina

      I’m particular about reality shows, but still a fan! Thanks for visiting!

  2. ShootingStarsMag

    I am really curious about Eight Days to Elsewhere. I haven’t see any reviews for it either though. No Offense also sounds kind of great. I love books about librarians.

    -Lauren

  3. Laura

    Such nice picks! I love books about bookstores too. Worked at one too for a while as well as at a library.

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.