Lisa’s Looking Forward To #50 – February 25th, 2020

February 19, 2020 LLFT 20

Once again I’ll be joining up with the Can’t Wait Wednesday posts hosted by Wishful Endings.  There are still five books to share this week.

From my ARC list for February 25th, 2020:

I still haven’t read Damsel, which I got a copy of and met the author at BEA in NOLA back in 2018. But I know this one sounds good too.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

You are alone in the woods, seen only by the unblinking yellow moon. Your hands are empty. You are nearly naked.

And the wolf is angry.

Since her grandmother became her caretaker when she was four years old, Bisou Martel has lived a quiet life in a little house in Seattle. She’s kept mostly to herself. She’s been good. But then comes the night of homecoming, when she finds herself running for her life over roots and between trees, a fury of claws and teeth behind her. A wolf attacks. Bisou fights back. A new moon rises. And with it, questions. About the blood in Bisou’s past and on her hands as she stumbles home. About broken boys and vicious wolves. About girls lost in the woods—frightened, but not alone.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

So I think this one came out a few years ago, but is being re-released? It sounds good though, right? ANd I like this cover better than the one that Goodreads has for its older release date.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

In this pulse-pounding techno-thriller, Jack Heath creates a world where everyone knows when you lie—and telling the truth doesn’t always set you free.

Jarli likes to think he’s an honest guy. He’s a big believer in telling the truth, no matter what. So he develops The Truth App, a mobile application that listens in on your conversations and can tell when someone’s lying. Then his app goes viral and, suddenly, Jarli is an internet sensation.

But, soon enough, Jarli realizes that being famous can be dangerous—especially when you’ve just exposed everyone’s deepest, darkest secrets. Now his entire town is out to get him; kids at school, teachers, the police, even his own family.

Also, an underground network of criminals has just added Jarli to their hit list. Sometimes, exposing the truth comes with a price…

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

To be fair, I’ve only read one book by this author, Daughter of the Pirate King, but I loved it, and so I want to read her other books. And look at that cover!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Alessandra is tired of being overlooked, but she has a plan to gain power:

1) Woo the Shadow King.
2) Marry him.
3) Kill him and take his kingdom for herself.

No one knows the extent of the freshly crowned Shadow King’s power. Some say he can command the shadows that swirl around him to do his bidding. Others say they speak to him, whispering the thoughts of his enemies. Regardless, Alessandra knows what she deserves, and she’s going to do everything within her power to get it.

But Alessandra’s not the only one trying to kill the king. As attempts on his life are made, she finds herself trying to keep him alive long enough for him to make her his queen—all while struggling not to lose her heart. After all, who better for a Shadow King than a cunning, villainous queen?

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

It sounds good, and again, I like to support Wattpad successes if I can.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

After losing his leg in a terrible car accident, Jonas Avery can’t wait to start over and go to college. Brennan Davis would like nothing more than to stay home and go to school, so she can keep her anxiety in check. When the two accidentally meet the summer before they move away, they’ll push each other to come to terms with what’s holding them back, even as they’re pulled closer to taking the biggest leap of all—falling in love. The Opposite of Falling Apart has more than 2.1 million reads on Wattpad.

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

I just love the sound of this one!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Don’t miss this spectacular debut novel… Can a girl who risks her life for books and an alien who loves forbidden pop music work together to save humanity? This road trip is truly out of this world! A beautiful and thrilling read for fans of Marie Lu and Veronica Roth.

Two years ago, a misunderstanding between the leaders of Earth and the invading Ilori resulted in the deaths of one-third of the world’s population.

Seventeen-year-old Janelle “Ellie” Baker survives in an Ilori-controlled center in New York City. With humans deemed dangerously volatile because of their initial reaction to the invasion, emotional expression can be grounds for execution. Music, art and books are illegal, but Ellie breaks the rules by keeping a secret library. When a book goes missing, Ellie is terrified that the Ilori will track it back to her and kill her.

Born in a lab, M0Rr1S was raised to be emotionless. When he finds Ellie’s illegal library, he’s duty-bound to deliver her for execution. The trouble is, he finds himself drawn to human music and in desperate need of more. They’re both breaking the rules for the love of art–and Ellie inspires the same feelings in him that music does.

Ellie’s–and humanity’s–fate rests in the hands of an alien she should fear. M0Rr1S has a lot of secrets, but also a potential solution–thousands of miles away. The two embark on a wild and dangerous road trip with a bag of books and their favorite albums, all the while creating a story and a song of their own that just might save them both. 

Sound good? Add to Goodreads HERE.

Final Thoughts:

More good looking books this week. Are any of these on your TBR, or have you already read them? If so, which do you recommend? And hey, while you’re here, you should go try to win some of my ARCs from Cleaning Up My TBR Post HERE. The US only giveaway is open till Friday at midnight.

20 Responses to “Lisa’s Looking Forward To #50 – February 25th, 2020”

  1. verushka

    You really genuinely have such diverse tastes — I always find something different for my tastes on your posts — like the Sound of stars — I adore that premise and how creative it is!

  2. Literary Feline

    So many tempting titles! The Sound of Stars is one I am really looking forward to as well. The Shadows Between Us also interests me quite a bit. I hadn’t heard of Red Hood, but you’ve got me curious about it now. I hope you love all of these when you read them.

    • Lisa Mandina

      If I don’t end up with advanced copies, I usually do the same of looking at other people’s reviews!

    • Lisa Mandina

      Yeah, there’s so much, but not always something I feel I MUST read. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.