Lisa’s Looking Forward To #30 – September 17th, 2019

September 11, 2019 LLFT 14

Back to joining up with the Waiting on Wednesday Posts, and the Can’t
Wait Wednesday posts hosted by Wishful Endings.  There are a ton of books out next week that I’m excited for!

From my ARC list for September 17th, 2019:

I want this one so bad!  It sounds just like one that is going to be a big hit.  And I mean they compare it to The Handmaid’s Tale, which I haven’t read, but love the tv show.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

A speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power. Optioned by Universal and Elizabeth Banks to be a major motion picture!

“A
visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and an absolute
page-turner. Liggett’s deeply suspenseful book brilliantly explores the
high cost of a misogynistic world that denies women power and does it
with a heart-in-your-throat, action-driven story that’s equal parts
horror-laden fairy tale, survival story, romance, and resistance
manifesto. I couldn’t stop reading.” – Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author

Survive the year.

No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden.

In
Garner County, girls are told they have the power to lure grown men
from their beds, to drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their
very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a
girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their
sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return
purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home
alive.

Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life—a
society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman,
but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it’s not
just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in
the woods, men who are waiting for a chance to grab one of the girls in
order to make a fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may
very well be each other.

With sharp prose and gritty realism, The Grace Year
examines the complex and sometimes twisted relationships between girls,
the women they eventually become, and the difficult decisions they make
in-between.

Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE
 

I always love stories that have settings or things that we are familiar with even if they are set in the future, like Costco.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

“If you see a beast, and you have the shot, don’t hesitate. Kill it.”

For
seventeen years, fees have lived separate from beasts. The division of
the sexes has kept their world peaceful. Glori Rhodes is like most other
fees her age. She adores her neighborhood’s abandoned Costco, can bench
her body weight, and she knew twenty-seven beast counter attack moves
by the time she was seven. She has never questioned the separation of
the sexes or the rules that keep her post-nuclear hometown safe. But
when her mother secretly gives birth to a baby beast, Glori grows to
love the child and can’t help wondering: What really is the difference
between us and them?

When her brother, at the age of five,
is snatched in a vicious raid, Glori and her best friend, Su, do the
unthinkable – covertly infiltrate the City of Beasts to get him back.
What’s meant to be a smash-and-grab job quickly becomes the adventure of
a lifetime as the fees team up with a fast-talking, T-shirt cannon
wielding beast named Sway, and Glori starts to see that there’s more to
males, and her own history, than she’s been taught. Glori, Sway, and a
motley cohort of friends will go to the ends of the earth to find her
little brother. And maybe save their divided world while they’re at it.

Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE.

Two of my favorite movies/tv shows are compared to this, although the cover is only so-so for me.  I wish I’d had time to read this one!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:



Adventures in Babysitting

meets

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

in this funny, action-packed novel about a coven of witchy
babysitters who realize their calling to protect the innocent and save
the world from an onslaught of evil.

Seventeen-year-old Esme Pearl has a babysitters club. She
knows it’s kinda lame, but what else is she supposed to do? Get a job?
Gross. Besides, Esme likes babysitting, and she’s good at it.

And
lately Esme needs all the cash she can get, because it seems like
destruction follows her wherever she goes. Let’s just say she owes some
people a new tree.

Enter Cassandra Heaven. She’s Instagram-model
hot, dresses like she found her clothes in a dumpster, and has a
rebellious streak as gnarly as the cafeteria food. So why is Cassandra
willing to do anything, even take on a potty-training two-year-old, to
join Esme’s babysitters club?

The answer lies in a mysterious note Cassandra’s mother left her: “Find the babysitters. Love, Mom.”

Turns
out, Esme and Cassandra have more in common than they think, and
they’re about to discover what being a babysitter really means: a heroic
lineage of superpowers, magic rituals, and saving the innocent from
seriously terrifying evil. And all before the parents get home.

Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE

Sounds like it could be an emotional read.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

 

Fifteen-year-old Lucky
loves her grandparents. True, her grandmother forgets things, like
turning the stove off, or Lucky’s name, but her grandfather takes such
good care of them that Lucky doesn’t realize how bad things are . . .
until she loses her grandfather and is left caring for her grandmother
on her own. When her grandma sets the kitchen on fire, Lucky can’t hide
what’s happening any longer, and she is sent into foster care. She
quickly learns that some families are okay, and some aren’t. And some
really, really aren’t. None of them feel like home. And they’re
certainly not family.

Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE

Another one that sounds like an emotional read.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

The only thing
connecting Sloane to her older sister Talley is a list–random places,
unfamiliar names, a phone number that she doesn’t recognize.

Ever
since Talley died, Sloane has been completely fixated on it: maybe
understanding how the items on list connect is the key to understanding
why Talley took her own life. Except the clues on the list seem to be
pointing her to California, and Talley had never even been there, right?

Turns out the list of things Sloane didn’t know about her sister is much longer than she realized.

She
heads out west in search of Adam, the owner of the mysterious phone
number, who claims he’d never met Talley. Even though Adam is clearly
hiding something, Sloane can’t deny that she’s drawn to him. Can
unraveling the cryptic non-sequiturs Talley left behind – and putting
her trust in a stranger – heal the hole her sister’s death has left in
Sloane’s life?

From author Courtney Sheinmel comes an engaging
and heartfelt novel about the bonds of sisterhood, the imprecision of
memory, and the incomparable value of finding something to live for.

Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE

This an author that I know I really need to read some day.

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Juliet Milagros Palante
is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out
to her family and isn’t sure if her mom will ever speak to her again.
But Juliet has a plan, sort of, one that’s going to help her figure out
this whole “Puerto Rican lesbian” thing. She’s interning with the author
of her favorite book: Harlowe Brisbane, the ultimate authority on
feminism, women’s bodies, and other gay-sounding stuff.

Will
Juliet be able to figure out her life over the course of one magical
summer? Is that even possible? Or is she running away from all the
problems that seem too big to handle?

With more questions than answers, Juliet takes on Portland, Harlowe, and most importantly, herself. 

Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE 

This is another author I know I need to read, and the story on this is really unique sounding!

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Ash gets on a Greyhound
bus to the place Bly was last seen: Snowflake, Arizona. Six thousand
feet up in the wide red desert, Ash meets Mona; her goat, Socrates; her
dog, Cooper; and finds stepbrother Bly, too.

In their
ramshackle homes, the walls lined with tinfoil, Mona and her neighbors
are all sick. But this isn’t any ordinary sickness: modern life has
poisoned them, and when Ash too falls ill, the doctor’s response is,
“It’s all in your mind.” Meanwhile, as Ash lives through a cycle of
illness and recovery and loss, the world beyond is succumbing to its own
affliction: a breakdown of civilization only distantly perceived by Ash
and the isolated residents of Snowflake, from which there may or may
not be a chance for recovery. This humane and thoughtful novel is about
resilience, trust, family, and love, when all seems lost.

Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE.

Sounds like a good mystery, with maybe a twist?  And I think maybe this is a Wattpad author?

Here is the blurb from Goodreads:

Griffin Tomlin is dead. And Clara’s sister killed him . . .

Four
months after the murder, the entire town of Shiloh is still in shock.
For Clara Porterfield, the normal world has crumbled around her in a
million chaotic pieces. Now Clara lives in a new reality, where her
sister awaits trial for murder, her mother obsessively digs in a dead,
frozen garden, and her father lives and breathes denial. At school,
Clara is haunted by her classmates’ morbid curiosity—and all of the
unspoken questions they won’t ask.

But none of them knows what she knows . . .
Now
Clara’s sister wants something from her—the one thing in all of this
that Clara isn’t ready to face: the truth about what really happened
that night. Because this story didn’t die with Griffin Tomlin. There’s
another story that needs to be told. And sometimes, the lies we’re told
are nowhere near as deadly as the lies we tell ourselves . . .

 Sound good?  Add to Goodreads HERE.

  

Final Thoughts:
The same number as last week  Have you read any of these yet?  Are they
on your TBR? 
And hey, while you’re here, you should go try to win some
of my ARCs from Cleaning Up My TBR Post
HERE. The US only giveaway is open till Friday at midnight, there are even some 2019 ARCs that can be one of your two choices. 

AND!  You’ve got one more day to help me celebrate my 10th blogoversary too!  Yep, you read that right, Lisa Loves Literature has been alive and kicking for 10 years now!  Go HERE and enter for more prizes! 

Please follow and like us:
0
fb-share-icon0
0
Pin Share20

14 Responses to “Lisa’s Looking Forward To #30 – September 17th, 2019”

  1. Barb

    I really want to read The Babysitter's Coven as well as The Grace Year. However, I've not seen City of Beasts before and now I'm interested in it too. Too many books not enough time!

  2. Samantha@WLABB

    I read Just Lucky, The Survival List, and the Babysitter's Coven. All went 4/5 for me. I was really impressed with how much story Florence crammed into so few pages. There is no waste there, and she gave the book a fantastic ending.

  3. Olivia's Catastrophe

    Wow, a looking forward post where I know absolutely none of the books at all… I am going to have to wait and see reviews of these to see if they are going to be ones I want to read ^.^

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.